Author Topic: Why Does CleanMem Attempt To Connect To The Internet Via Browser?  (Read 17355 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline blues_

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 1
Why does CleanMem attempt to connect out via the default browser?  I have the parent operation blocked but I can't understand the need for it to continue to try to connect out every five minutes. 

I appreciate the product and find it useful but would like to know what's up with this. 

I am using v2.4.2, free version without the mini-monitor.

Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2012, 03:18:47 PM by blues_ »

PcWinTech.com Forums


Offline blues_

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 1
Re: Why Does CleanMem Attempt To Connect To The Internet Via Browser?
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2012, 04:15:39 PM »
To add a little data...in case it was a "license checking" situation as I read in an older thread, I allowed the connection one time...and then disallowed the parent process prior to the next scheduled time it would run. (Every five minutes as I mentioned earlier.)

Anyway, it continues to attempt to call out even after it was allowed to do so once already...which should have been sufficient for the license (or lack thereof) to be verified.

I'm not thrilled with my software firewall having to intercept multiple attempts to connect out every five minutes. (UDP (17), Port 53)

If there is a workaround for this outside of removing the app I'd love to hear it.

Again, my thanks in advance.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Why Does CleanMem Attempt To Connect To The Internet Via Browser?
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2012, 07:00:34 PM »
Program does 2 checks are startup and only at startup.

And it uses the Inet control and not any browser. First it connects to my site to check a list of blocked keys. Next, if enabled it checks for any program updates.

It only does this at startup and not again while the program is running. Also it is connecting to my site on the normal port 80 and TCP. :wink:

I wonder if it is the remote feature? Again that is just allowing the screen saver or the remote to connection to it, it doesnt open any browsers, only listens on a port.

Something else is going on with your system, lets find out :-)

Can you post any screen shots of the information your firewall is giving you?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline blues_

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 1
Re: Why Does CleanMem Attempt To Connect To The Internet Via Browser?
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2012, 07:25:26 PM »
Shane, sorry, I ended up removing CleanMem as I just didn't feel comfortable with this activity.

This behavior started just today after the program had been  installed for several days. I had upgraded to this version several days ago after completely removing version 1.71 (I believe it was) which I had used for quite some time.

BTW, that version also tried to open and connect via Firefox as a "parent operation" which is why I eventually removed. it.  This behavior was detected by my software firewall which I have alert me to all new outbound connections for allowing or blocking.

Even though I was able to successfully block the outbound connection attempts, I got tired of looking at my firewall logs and seeing that it was literally attempting to connect every five minutes.  And each occasion would have multiple attempts during a several second span. 

I had installed the current version in hopes that I would no longer experience this attempt by the app to connect out but I guess it's not going to happen.
Since it took several days before the behavior started (this time), I thought I was out of the woods.

I think CleanMem is a worthwhile program but I really wish there was a way to nip the connection issue in the bud at the very outset.

« Last Edit: July 06, 2012, 07:27:35 PM by blues_ »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Why Does CleanMem Attempt To Connect To The Internet Via Browser?
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2012, 07:47:55 PM »
I wonder if the firewall was getting it wrong and was flagging cleanmem when it was cleaning firefox.

That would explain the time interval. How often did you have cleanmem set to run?

And did it happen when firefox wasn't open?

Oh well, if you dont have the answers thats fine. I can tell you though that cleanmem doesn't use the default browser for anything :-)

The only connections it does is with the inet control and winsock. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline blues_

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 1
Re: Why Does CleanMem Attempt To Connect To The Internet Via Browser?
« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2012, 07:58:22 PM »
Shane, I misspoke...it's Mozilla Thunderbird it's trying to access as a parent operation...not Firefox.  I apologize for the earlier error.

Here's a portion of the log... (removed)

The firewall warning is for "restricted parent operation"... c:\windows\tasks\clean system memory.job... in connection with Mozilla Thunderbird.

The remote IP's listed are my DNS servers...

CleanMem was cleaning all apps (including Firefox & Thunderbird) successfully on the default interval of 15 minutes both before and after this issue arose.

« Last Edit: July 06, 2012, 08:19:39 PM by blues_ »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Why Does CleanMem Attempt To Connect To The Internet Via Browser?
« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2012, 08:05:30 PM »
Its not cleanmem bud  :cheesy:

c:\windows\tasks\clean system memory.job

Is the Windows Task scheduler job file for cleanmem to run no cleanmem itself. You had must have had it set to run every 5 min, which is why you see it on the timed interval.

So when the task scheduler opened the job file and ran cleanmem the task scheduler triggered your firewall. And I have no clue why LOL

Odd it was only triggering it for your email client (I use thunderbird as well)

I have never checked but I dont think the task scheduler in Windows has any email options, so not sure why it would have triggered that one process and not any others.

Unless thunderbird was accessing the job file for some reason, but I cant think of any reason why thunderbird would do that.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline blues_

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 1
Re: Why Does CleanMem Attempt To Connect To The Internet Via Browser?
« Reply #7 on: July 06, 2012, 08:10:31 PM »
Strange because I had left it at the default 15 minutes for CleanMem to run though Thunderbird is set to run every five minutes to check for new mail.

The odd thing is that there are no other scheduled tasks at all so I wonder what could be causing them to interact?   

And why did it take several days before it started?

Any ideas?

« Last Edit: July 06, 2012, 08:14:44 PM by blues_ »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Why Does CleanMem Attempt To Connect To The Internet Via Browser?
« Reply #8 on: July 06, 2012, 08:14:52 PM »
So email was set for every 5 min.

Which then you would get the warning about thunderbird trying to access the job file in the task scheduler.

I have no idea why LOL.

If it was cleanmem itself it would say cleanmem.exe

Feel free to try cleanmem again, but this time remove the schedule from the task scheduler and manually run cleanmem any time you need it. Let me know if you get any errors from your firewall. :wink:

If you dont then we know it is thunderbird causing it for some odd reason. (I use v13 myself)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline blues_

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 1
Re: Why Does CleanMem Attempt To Connect To The Internet Via Browser?
« Reply #9 on: July 06, 2012, 08:17:59 PM »
Thanks, Shane.   I may just try that.   

At least it's consistent from version to version.  LOL!

Maybe the manual method might be the way to go.   If I try it I'll report back.

Appreciate your time.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Why Does CleanMem Attempt To Connect To The Internet Via Browser?
« Reply #10 on: July 06, 2012, 08:56:24 PM »
No problem, I will be here if you need me :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline blues_

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 1
Re: Why Does CleanMem Attempt To Connect To The Internet Via Browser?
« Reply #11 on: July 07, 2012, 08:27:58 AM »
Shane, I took your advice and am using the app manually for the time being.

I re-downloaded and installed, removed the scheduled task and have the mini-monitor (toggled off) running in the tray and set to start with Windows so I can keep an eye on things.

I originally got the program (quite some time ago) to help deal with a memory leak in one of the ASUS processes on my 17" desktop replacement. No updated version was made available and I found CleanMem a convenient way to corral the runaway mem usage.

The issue with Thunderbird is a strange one and I don't remember exactly how, where or when it first started, but it was at least as early as version 1.7.1. if not earlier. 
I agree that it is odd that the clean mem.job would act as a parent opening up Thunderbird...somewhere something got discombobulated (to use a technical term)...

...anyway, we'll see if the mini-monitor/manual solution provides an adequate workaround.  Barring any unexpected alerts from the firewall/HIPS, I think it will be as it's been a long time since I used the tray app and it's nice to have the data near at hand.

Thanks again both for the product and your assistance...both are equally appreciated.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2012, 08:36:24 AM by blues_ »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Why Does CleanMem Attempt To Connect To The Internet Via Browser?
« Reply #12 on: July 07, 2012, 01:10:59 PM »
No problem.

Feel free to let me know how things go  :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline blues_

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 1
Re: Why Does CleanMem Attempt To Connect To The Internet Via Browser?
« Reply #13 on: July 08, 2012, 09:01:34 AM »
Shane, so far, so good.   

This morning I decided to try out the "advanced" features to address the one process that has a memory leak and also to set upper limits on firefox, thunderbird and one other process.  Working great, especially since I seem to be able to bypass the issue with thunderibird and the task scheduler.

I run XP Pro SP3 with 2 gigs of RAM.   Do you have a recommendation (since I'm not really familiar with doing this) as to when to clean the file cache either as a specific amount or a percentage of the peak size etc?  I would appreciate any thoughts you may have so I can make an intelligent setting for it in the advanced menu.

I'll be sending my payment in for the "pro" version as I think this tailors the app very nicely to my specific wants and avoids the prior issue as a bonus.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2012, 09:04:59 AM by blues_ »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Why Does CleanMem Attempt To Connect To The Internet Via Browser?
« Reply #14 on: July 08, 2012, 12:59:54 PM »
Have the file cache set to clean after it grows over 100 to 150mb :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Why Does CleanMem Attempt To Connect To The Internet Via Browser?
« Reply #14 on: July 08, 2012, 12:59:54 PM »

 

email