Author Topic: Can't get Q-see dvr to view remotely.  (Read 28833 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nsxviper

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jun 2012
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Can't get Q-see dvr to view remotely.
« on: June 08, 2012, 05:03:19 AM »
I've been working on this for days and it's been driving me nuts. I can't seem to view my q-see dvr cameras remotely.  The one thing that confuses me is the DNS settings. I have set them to my WAN's DNS settings. I tried 0.0.0.0 instead and Q-see tells me there's an error and won't continue. I just changed my DNS to 192.168.1.1 and I still can't get it to work.

I have the router Asus WL-520GU flashed to Tomato USB.
I forwarded my ports 37777 TCP, 80 TCP, and 37778 UDP.
I assigned a static IP to my dvr.
UPNP is enabled, DMZ is disabled.
I used the website http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/ and tested my ports. 37777 and 80 are opened but 37778 is closed.
I forwarded the ports to the static IP of my dvr.
I can't log on to my dvr using my android app (Q-see). I tried both my public IP address and my LAN IP address. Along with and without adding :80 or :37777 at the end of the IP address.
I can't log on my computer using IP camera viewer.
I tried using IE9 to login and it won't install webrec.cab. I lowered the security of my LAN address and allowed installation of ActiveX.
I tried using DDNS and I still have the same issue.
I disabled windows firewall and my antivirus firewall.

« Last Edit: June 13, 2012, 11:47:07 AM by nsxviper »

PcWinTech.com Forums

Can't get Q-see dvr to view remotely.
« on: June 08, 2012, 05:03:19 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,409
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 489
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Can't get Q-see dvr to view remotely.
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2012, 09:17:17 PM »
Log into the router and find the WAN/Internet IP it has. Does it match the IP on this page?
http://www.pcwintech.com/myip

Shane
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline nsxviper

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jun 2012
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Can't get Q-see dvr to view remotely.
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2012, 11:31:02 PM »
Yes it does.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,409
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 489
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Can't get Q-see dvr to view remotely.
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2012, 10:25:53 AM »
Ok try this, change the DVR port it uses from 80 to 8080 and then edit the port forwarding rule and change it as well.

Once done let me know and I will try to connect :wink:

Shane
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline nsxviper

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jun 2012
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Can't get Q-see dvr to view remotely.
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2012, 05:02:36 PM »
Ok changed my DVR to port 8080 and I have it forward to my WAN IP address. I tested it and the port is opened.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,409
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 489
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Can't get Q-see dvr to view remotely.
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2012, 02:04:44 PM »
I can connect to you :-)

So remember, a lot of routers dont like reverse nat.
http://www.pcwintech.com/test-for-reverse-nat

So when home and on the same network as the DVR you will use its local IP and when outside your home like I am you will use your internet IP.

And for port 8080 you just add it to the end like this

example: http://192.168.1.111:8080

let me know your all set and I will lock this thread :wink:

Shane
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline nsxviper

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jun 2012
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Can't get Q-see dvr to view remotely.
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2012, 03:41:18 PM »
I was reading the link you gave me about Reverse NAT and I tried testing it out with Simple Internet Tools but it would just hang. I made sure I opened up another port on my home computer's IP address.  I don't know if there are some settings in my router that I need to do to support Reverse NAT.

Another issue I have is that I tried using my Qsee QT viewer for android on a 4G network to connect to my DVR but it is unable to find the network. Even using the wifi connection doesn't work.

What do you exactly mean when you connected to my DVR? Does it show the Qsee login screen? How did you do it?

I'll try to use a different internet connection outside my house and see what happens.


Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,409
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 489
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Can't get Q-see dvr to view remotely.
« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2012, 10:54:24 AM »
I just opened IE and put in your internet IP you posted under with an :8080 at the end and I get the DVR login  :wink:

Shane
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Can't get Q-see dvr to view remotely.
« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2012, 10:54:24 AM »

 

anything