Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Huawei hg530 router  (Read 11977 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tylefouryou

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2011
  • Posts: 13
  • Location: Rosarito Beach Baja California
  • Karma: 0
Huawei hg530 router
« on: May 18, 2012, 11:08:27 AM »
Greetings once again gurus.
Followed all steps in the reverse nat capabilities of our new telmex supplied huawei hg530 router.
Apparently this router does not support reverse nat :-(
Are there any other known workarounds to get around this?
my system here is  xp
2 different computers running thru the router;  mine and wife's; both xp systems

the motivation here is to solve a problem i am experiencing thru winmx: a p2p program; whereby I am unable to do a whois on myself nor browse-which seems inextricably linked to this reverse nat phenomenae

I await further instructions
Jeff

PcWinTech.com Forums

Huawei hg530 router
« on: May 18, 2012, 11:08:27 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Huawei hg530 router
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2012, 12:47:20 PM »
The only thing you can do is to use your local IP when connecting to your own network and use the internet IP when outside your network :wink:

So say your wife's computer is hosting a game you want to play with her. You would put in her computers local IP to play since your on the same network.

Now lets say your out of town and want to play the game with her. She is hosting, so you put in her internet IP to connect to her.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline tylefouryou

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2011
  • Posts: 13
  • Location: Rosarito Beach Baja California
  • Karma: 0
Re: Huawei hg530 router
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2012, 12:53:51 PM »
Fair enough Shane; could you elaborate a little more on where I could effect these changes (what menu)
network conns etc etc
would a static ip help at all? even on both systems?
many thanx
Jeff

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Huawei hg530 router
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2012, 12:58:17 PM »
There is no changes to make. It is just the nature of networking.

If you want to make static local IP's for your system you can. This way it will be easier to remember what machine has which IP :wink:

http://www.pcwintech.com/simple-static-ip

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Huawei hg530 router
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2012, 12:58:17 PM »

 

email