Author Topic: Setting up a proxy + using connectify  (Read 39823 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wajed

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 0
Setting up a proxy + using connectify
« on: April 08, 2012, 08:29:54 AM »
Hi, I've set up a caching proxy (Squid) to speed things up for me, specially that I frequently visit specific websites.

The Internet is coming through cable (wire broadband connection), and there is a proxy I have to use. I could set up my caching proxy to forward it's flow to the parent proxy. So all is working on my PC.

However, I also use Connectify to provide Internet connection to my Smartphone and Tablet, and I don't know how to use the proxy.

There are many proxy applications, but I don't know how to put the proxy settings. I've tried a lot of settings, but it seems not a simple matter.

I tried to use ad-hoc instead of Connectify, but neither my Tablet (android) nor my Smartphone (also android: Cyanogenmod 7.2)  support ad-hoc wireless.

PcWinTech.com Forums

Setting up a proxy + using connectify
« on: April 08, 2012, 08:29:54 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Setting up a proxy + using connectify
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2012, 10:48:25 PM »
Most programs and phones have a proxy settings area where you put in the IP of the proxy, which would be what ever IP Squid has, if it is running on your computer then it would be your computers IP :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline wajed

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 0
Re: Setting up a proxy + using connectify
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2012, 04:18:51 AM »
I've tried that, but it doesn't connect.

I think this is relevant:-


Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.3.213.68
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.3.213.1



Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.251.1
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Connection 2 is what Connectify uses to make an AP providing connection using the Local Area Connection.

Offline wajed

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 0
Re: Setting up a proxy + using connectify
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2012, 11:21:45 AM »
Update 2:-

It basically worked! but there are problems.

Squid proxy forwards to another proxy, and this is causing issues. I have to use both proxies, but I have to find a solution for them both to work together. On my PC, I'm facing no problem. On my android, there seems to be a problem with the second (parent) proxy not being able to give "good" results to me. I have used speedtest android app, and it stops in the middle (also it uses an unusual server for the test).

Update:-

I stopped connectify service, and tried netsh wlan.

After some fighting, I could access the Internet (like connectify). I tried to do this as it could have given me different results... but I couldn't do it. Neither using Connectify nor using "netsh" worked. (I get internet connection, but if I use a proxy it doesn't work).

I have now installed Wireshark, and here is a result (me performing speed test using speedtest.net android app on Nook Color Cyanogenmod 7.2): http://i.imgur.com/HimPZ.png

192.168.136.58 is the IP of the Nook Color
192.168.137.1 is the the IP address of the virtual AP.
10.3.213.68 is the IP address of the Squid server (and the NIC providing Internet to the virtual AP, the Internet is provided by Internet Connection Sharing)

Here is a result of me opening a webpage on the Nook Color: http://i.imgur.com/riygM.png
In my web browser I got:
"The following error was encountered:
    - Unable to forward this request at this time"

and at the end of the page

"Generated Tue, 10 Apr 2012 18:14:56 GMT by 10.3.213.68 (squid/2.7.STABLE8)

Sorry for the long post!
« Last Edit: April 10, 2012, 11:42:03 AM by wajed »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Setting up a proxy + using connectify
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2012, 01:27:02 PM »
What proxy settings do you have set in your system vs the android?

Also from here

Quote
192.168.136.58 is the IP of the Nook Color
192.168.137.1 is the the IP address of the virtual AP.
10.3.213.68

Your computer has access to all 3 of these IP's, because all 3 IP's are on the system. But the android wont as they are all on different IP ranges. So the android will be able to connect to one of them but not the others.

The trick maybe getting all of them under the same IP range, then see if the android can ping them :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Setting up a proxy + using connectify
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2012, 01:27:02 PM »

 

email