Author Topic: WPA?  (Read 3859 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
WPA?
« on: March 30, 2012, 06:00:26 PM »
Hey Shane

  Which security setting do you recommend?
1.WPA-PSK(TKIP)
2.WPA2-PSK(AES)
3.WPA-PSK(TKIP)+WPA2-PSK(AES)
4.WPA/WPA2 Enterprise

This is a Netgear router

Also what channel do you recommend as well?


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

PcWinTech.com Forums

WPA?
« on: March 30, 2012, 06:00:26 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: WPA?
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2012, 06:07:54 PM »
WPA-PSK(TKIP)+WPA2-PSK(AES)

And for channel any will do as long as nothing else is on the same channel. (Cored less phones, other routers) :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
Re: WPA?
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2012, 06:13:10 PM »
Okay. I already have it set to that. I'm trying to increase the reception on this laptop, it's an older gateway. I guess some kind of usb adapter would be a way to increase reception? The reception is good for about 1 room away. I'm using an n300 netgear.


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: WPA?
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2012, 12:17:54 PM »
New usb wireless would work better. The walls are killing the signal. Putting the netgear high or even above the walls (In attic) will work really well.

Wireless comes out in all directions 360. Having it above the walls allows the wireless to get in most rooms avoiding the walls.

Had a customer with a wireless in their back room (single story home). They had the router on the floor next to the desk. The living room didn't get a signal. Just by me putting the router on the highest shelf got 2 bars to the living room. I then had them by a repeater and put it in a room between, where it takes the signal and re sends it. Their whole house has wireless.

Had another customer that had 2 story home. This one wall on the first floor killed the signal. Put the router up stairs, whole house gets wireless :-)

So what does this all say? The position of the wireless source plays a BIG role lol

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
Re: WPA?
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2012, 12:20:48 PM »
Hey thanks man. Will do.


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: WPA?
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2012, 12:20:48 PM »