Author Topic: Port 80 Blocked?  (Read 24737 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port 80 Blocked?
« Reply #15 on: March 28, 2012, 04:01:32 PM »
Yeah I had to disable it. Kept having people message me instead of posting lol

email me, shane at pcwintech

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Port 80 Blocked?
« Reply #15 on: March 28, 2012, 04:01:32 PM »

Offline Apple

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port 80 Blocked?
« Reply #16 on: March 28, 2012, 04:05:14 PM »
Oh haha! Sent!  :smiley:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port 80 Blocked?
« Reply #17 on: March 28, 2012, 04:06:02 PM »
OK, your IP matches the one I am trying.

Do me a fav, post a screen shot of the port forwarding page, the basic settings page and the DMZ in the modem. Makre sure DMZ is off in the netgear. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Apple

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port 80 Blocked?
« Reply #18 on: March 28, 2012, 04:12:03 PM »
 :smiley:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port 80 Blocked?
« Reply #19 on: March 28, 2012, 04:17:37 PM »
OK good, now I need the DMZ page in the modem :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Apple

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port 80 Blocked?
« Reply #20 on: March 28, 2012, 04:19:15 PM »
Ahh okay. In the comcast?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port 80 Blocked?
« Reply #21 on: March 28, 2012, 04:27:38 PM »
Everything looks perfect, yet I cant connect. I even did a port scan for 8080 and got nothing.

Make sure there is no port forwarding rules in the comcast modem. Then I want you to reboot everything, from the modem, the router and the dvr. Do the modem first, wait for it to come back online then the router, once online do the DVR. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Apple

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port 80 Blocked?
« Reply #22 on: March 28, 2012, 04:34:53 PM »
Everything restarted. It is very strange. In the information section of the DVR the local IP changed once again. Now it's 192.168.1.4. Everything else seems unchanged.

Offline Apple

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port 80 Blocked?
« Reply #23 on: March 28, 2012, 04:40:41 PM »
I actually have to go although I am still able to teamviewer over to this through my iPhone and make changes. Thanks!

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port 80 Blocked?
« Reply #24 on: March 28, 2012, 04:41:09 PM »
Ok if it changed to .4 update the port forwarding rule now and I will try to connect.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Apple

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port 80 Blocked?
« Reply #25 on: March 28, 2012, 04:42:34 PM »
Updated to .4

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port 80 Blocked?
« Reply #26 on: March 28, 2012, 04:44:53 PM »
Still not connecting.

Lets try something, you need to make this change in 2 areas.

1. In the network setup of the dvr lets change the port from 8080 to say 5000
2. In the port forwarding rule, edit it and change the port there as well.

Lets see how this goes :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Apple

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port 80 Blocked?
« Reply #27 on: March 29, 2012, 09:37:36 AM »
Changed to 5000. Works locally!

Offline Apple

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port 80 Blocked?
« Reply #28 on: March 29, 2012, 10:08:00 AM »
Oh actually, it also works using the external ip! Thanks!  :cheesy:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port 80 Blocked?
« Reply #29 on: March 29, 2012, 03:17:41 PM »
And it now works for me :-)

For some reason I think your ISP started blocking 8080. But it works now on 5000 :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Port 80 Blocked?
« Reply #29 on: March 29, 2012, 03:17:41 PM »