Author Topic: Troubleshoot, encore enhwi-g2  (Read 12395 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline realemotion16

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 18
  • Location: NC
  • Karma: 0
    • Amway
Troubleshoot, encore enhwi-g2
« on: March 26, 2012, 10:23:16 PM »
I have tried to install my encore technologies wireless router. I use a satellite connection, I connect the Ethernet cable to the WAN on router, then another cable from the PC (a desktop) to the LAN. The PC can pick up the hardware connection but it doesn't connect me to the internet. I have tried the virtual setup but still no luck. Any help will be much appreciated!

PcWinTech.com Forums

Troubleshoot, encore enhwi-g2
« on: March 26, 2012, 10:23:16 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Troubleshoot, encore enhwi-g2
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2012, 12:42:02 PM »
No need to double post :-)

When you set everything up try re powering the satellite connection.

Some modems when not acting like routers only give out 1 IP at a time and need to be rebooted when connecting them to a new device :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline realemotion16

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 18
  • Location: NC
  • Karma: 0
    • Amway
Re: Troubleshoot, encore enhwi-g2
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2012, 04:54:08 PM »
I apologize :artist: Double post was the result of having posted in a topic which had been moved, loL!

I shall give it a try, thanks!

Offline realemotion16

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 18
  • Location: NC
  • Karma: 0
    • Amway
Re: Troubleshoot, encore enhwi-g2
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2012, 05:29:58 PM »
Seems the virtual setup was the issue :shocked:

The issue lied within the interface setup, I kept choosing "static IP" when I should have chosen "DHCP Client."

My last question will be regarding to setting up the password. The attached pic...is this it?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Troubleshoot, encore enhwi-g2
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2012, 07:54:46 PM »
That is for the password for the router, no need to change it :wink:

If you need the password for the wireless that will be security under the wireless section.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline realemotion16

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 18
  • Location: NC
  • Karma: 0
    • Amway
Re: Troubleshoot, encore enhwi-g2
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2012, 08:42:49 PM »
Thanks! I was wondering what it was xD

Setting up wireless router is a new experience as my previous ISP offered a wireless modem with a password already preset.

What would your recommended settings be? I appreciate your time, many thanks :wink:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Troubleshoot, encore enhwi-g2
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2012, 12:16:40 PM »
WPA2

This will let you make the password (pass phrase and pre shared key) anything you want as long as it is 8 chars or longer :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline realemotion16

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 18
  • Location: NC
  • Karma: 0
    • Amway
Re: Troubleshoot, encore enhwi-g2
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2012, 03:13:09 PM »
Many thanks, Shane! Though my PC knowledge is enough to get me by, I am still learning something new everyday it seems =D

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Troubleshoot, encore enhwi-g2
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2012, 03:14:13 PM »
No problem :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline realemotion16

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 18
  • Location: NC
  • Karma: 0
    • Amway
Re: Troubleshoot, encore enhwi-g2
« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2012, 04:14:27 AM »
So my brother boots up the PC last night and the router wasn't connecting. I had to do another router setup, is there a way to prevent this?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Troubleshoot, encore enhwi-g2
« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2012, 06:05:39 PM »
When you say you had to do another setup, what is it that you are doing that gets it back online? What keeps changing on you?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline realemotion16

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 18
  • Location: NC
  • Karma: 0
    • Amway
Re: Troubleshoot, encore enhwi-g2
« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2012, 09:53:04 AM »
Of course, I turn off my pc when I'm not using it. I don't turn off the modem & router as they don't have power buttons but when I boot it up, it doesn't connect until I hit 192.168.1.1 and keep clicking next until complete, then it connects again :tongue:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Troubleshoot, encore enhwi-g2
« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2012, 12:24:07 PM »
Quote
it doesn't connect until I hit 192.168.1.1 and keep clicking next until complete

Can you explain in a little more detail? :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline realemotion16

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 18
  • Location: NC
  • Karma: 0
    • Amway
Re: Troubleshoot, encore enhwi-g2
« Reply #13 on: March 31, 2012, 05:22:30 PM »
Let's see...the modem and router are both running before I turn the PC on. As I wait for it to finish booting, the internet status on the bottom right hand corner will show "local only," so I have to go to the router setup screen and click in the basics which are still in the settings I chose for it..after I click to finish, the connection comes back to normal. I thought the router was supposed to work all the time without having to do this each time xD

I hope I made better sense, haha! :artist:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Troubleshoot, encore enhwi-g2
« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2012, 06:07:23 PM »
It is suppose to. DHCP should be on int he router. DHCP auto hands out the IP info for each computer.

If I am understanding your computer is getting an IP, you are having to login and have the router reconnect to the DSL correct?

Do me a fav and post a screen shot of the page your having to put the info in for :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Troubleshoot, encore enhwi-g2
« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2012, 06:07:23 PM »