Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: DHCP Client Service  (Read 5823 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
DHCP Client Service
« on: March 02, 2012, 04:12:21 PM »
Hi Shane

    If I'm understanding this correctly, the DHCP Client Service registers dynamic IP's and DNS's. I've set my IP to static (I'm behind a router) and my DNS is also static (Using Open Dns). Do I need this service in operation?



Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

PcWinTech.com Forums

DHCP Client Service
« on: March 02, 2012, 04:12:21 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: DHCP Client Service
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2012, 04:40:26 PM »
DHCP in your router is just to auto hand out IP info so people don't have to auto enter it.

If yours is set to static and nothing else is connected then you don't need it enabled. At the same time though you will get no benefit from it being disabled. it is a very simple service and uses very little resources :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: DHCP Client Service
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2012, 04:40:26 PM »

 

email