Author Topic: [How To] Manually Install Lorex ActiveX Control  (Read 44942 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,453
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 489
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
[How To] Manually Install Lorex ActiveX Control
« on: January 12, 2012, 08:28:45 PM »
If you have trouble getting the Lorex ActiveX control to download and install in Internet Explorer then this post should help you. :cheesy:

I download the files from a Lorex DVR. ActiveX version 02030143 is currently attached.

Download the attached zip file.

Once downloaded extract all the files into a new folder.

Make sure Internet Explorer is closed.

You will see 2 new folders.

32bit_systems
64bit_systems

Choose the folder based on your system 32 bit systems choose the 32 bit folder and 64 bit system choose the 64 bit folder.

Now in the folder you choose will be a Windows folder. Copy this folder to the root of your system (Normally this is C:\)

When you copy the folder to C:\ it will ask you if you want to overwrite, say yes. (This only puts the lorex files in, nothing else)

Once done double click the reg file in the folder you extracted and you should be set to go. Make sure that once the DVR is loaded to enable the compatibility button in IE :wink:

Shane
« Last Edit: January 13, 2012, 11:19:44 AM by Shane »
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

[How To] Manually Install Lorex ActiveX Control
« on: January 12, 2012, 08:28:45 PM »

Offline Victor2012

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Re: [How To] Manually Install Lorex ActiveX Control
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2012, 08:59:37 PM »
Thanks this worked on 2 laptops that were having the issues. :artist:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,453
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 489
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: [How To] Manually Install Lorex ActiveX Control
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2012, 12:02:17 PM »
Good glad it helped :-)

Shane
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline becker0907

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Re: [How To] Manually Install Lorex ActiveX Control
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2012, 08:45:59 PM »
Sooo... I've been working all night to get this to work I figured out all the port forwarding(I think) but when i go to the url i get the install active x thing and i have installed the program from here twice what should i do now?

Offline mttlng

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2012
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
Re: [How To] Manually Install Lorex ActiveX Control
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2012, 12:06:21 PM »
Hi Shane, I manually installed the ActiveX control and I double checked the Windows registry to make sure.  Looks like everything needed was there!  But the Remote Access Login screen is still not showing up.  How do you check the Browser Add-ons?... What is name of the ActiveX Control that I look for?

I'm using IE 8, windows XP.  Thanks!

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,453
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 489
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: [How To] Manually Install Lorex ActiveX Control
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2012, 01:35:23 PM »
Quote
Hi Shane, I manually installed the ActiveX control and I double checked the Windows registry to make sure.  Looks like everything needed was there!  But the Remote Access Login screen is still not showing up.  How do you check the Browser Add-ons?... What is name of the ActiveX Control that I look for?

Check under IE, tools and manage add ons. Make sure you are trying while on the same network as the dvr and using its local IP and not the DDNS name.

Shane
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline mttlng

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2012
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
Re: [How To] Manually Install Lorex ActiveX Control
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2012, 08:29:41 PM »
Thank you Shane!!  I finally had a chance to check it and saw the RSVideo Control by Lorex technology.  I don't see this at all from my work's PC; I think they block the ActiveX Control at work.   :cry:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,453
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 489
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: [How To] Manually Install Lorex ActiveX Control
« Reply #7 on: October 25, 2012, 11:23:14 AM »
Glad you found it :-)

And a lot of places of business do block active x.

Shane
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline thelonehye

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Re: [How To] Manually Install Lorex ActiveX Control
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2013, 09:27:17 PM »
Hello,

I've followed the steps in your first posting, but I'm not sure if I followed them step by step.

Computers are not my area of expertise, so sorry in advance for the troubles. I've been trying to connect my lorex system to the computer for days now, but its just not working. I came across this post this late at night and I tried following your steps, but I'm afraid I may have done a mistake when you wrote that I had to put a copy of the 'Windows file' in the C drive. I did do that, but not on the main page of the C drive. I instead put it in of the files in the drive and I didn't get the pop up message that you wrote. So anyways, I went back to the main file and downloaded the reg file. I opened the IE, and i tried going on the ip adress. Again I got a pop up saying I had to download the plug in from lorex. I thought I messed up in the steps you wrote so I went back and deleted the file from the C drive and copy pasted again and I tried again in the IE, without success.

Now I'm thinking of uninstalling the reg file and retrying the setup again, step by step. I just don't know how to uninstall it...

Sorry for the long message. I'm just fed up lol. I want to get this camera thing up and running, but its not working.

Any help would be appreciated,

Thanks in advance.

Reggie.

Offline Wyndian

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Re: [How To] Manually Install Lorex ActiveX Control
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2013, 01:11:05 PM »
I have Lorex cameras at work I was able to check what was going on from home now I can't. The sign in screen comes up and I click on "Login" and nothing happens now. It use to work great. Does anyone have an idea? I have all the new active X and flash etc...

Offline retroeagle

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Re: [How To] Manually Install Lorex ActiveX Control
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2013, 08:05:02 AM »
Hi.  I have the same problem as you Wyndian.  I got he login screen to show up.  Everything was working fine before until MS pushed IE11.  After the IE 11 update the login screen would not show up.  I added the DVR IP address to the compatibility views.  That got the login screen to show up, but nothing happens when I click on login.

I have another computer I prevented the IE11 push and it works fine still.  On IE 11 I tried turning off my firewall, set security settings to the lowest setting and still nothing happens.  I checked how to go back to IE10 and all the comments said it is not easy so I decided not to try (yet).  I prefer to fix the issue if I can.

I look forward to any ideas also.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,453
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 489
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: [How To] Manually Install Lorex ActiveX Control
« Reply #11 on: January 01, 2014, 04:09:05 PM »
Not the thread to ask, should start a new one :wink:

But, every time MS comes out with a new version of IE lorex has to update their active x control to work with it. So check to see if there is a firmware update for your dvr, thats how you can get the new control. I think they finally have new controls to finally work with firefox and others instead of just IE :-)

Shane
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: [How To] Manually Install Lorex ActiveX Control
« Reply #11 on: January 01, 2014, 04:09:05 PM »