Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Router confusion  (Read 45266 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Camerashy

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #15 on: September 19, 2012, 01:02:48 PM »
How come no one tells one that 'you have to have "regular" Internet'?
I would save me some $$ if I just knew how much trouble it is goig to be!
Just vented...nevermind. thanks

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Router confusion
« Reply #15 on: September 19, 2012, 01:02:48 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #16 on: September 19, 2012, 01:03:56 PM »
No problem :-)

Once you have it setup and you need help with the port forwarding just let me know.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Camerashy

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #17 on: September 22, 2012, 10:30:56 AM »
I have gotten new Clear router.
NOW I am going insane looking for Lorex MAC number!!!
How am I supposed to find it? Lorex support is off today:(

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #18 on: September 22, 2012, 02:01:25 PM »
Why do you need the mac address of the dvr?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Camerashy

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #19 on: September 24, 2012, 08:48:48 AM »
I need it so they can set up port forwarding for me...is there other way?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #20 on: September 24, 2012, 10:58:25 AM »
Port forwarding rules are set by the local IP not mac address. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Camerashy

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #21 on: September 24, 2012, 11:25:28 AM »
First I had borrowed monitor from a neighborhood computer store to get MAC address of my whatever...Lorex DVR is it?
And I GOT IT!!!

Are you ready to hear story about me talking to Clear Cambodia (or so) support???

Well...we were trying to connect my Clear hub (newly purchased just for this purpose) to an Internet just to find out its IP address...(the funny thing is that WiFi address and pwd is written ON THE HUB but not its IP address...how dumb is that?)

After hours of wasting my cellminutes I had to hang up...he couldn't do it. He told me to go find another computer and try to connect to internet. And I know its a bull because for some reason I couldn't connect to Internet using new hub at home...and it is seems working. 4-5 lights and all...

Help

~Clear-ly Insane~

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #22 on: September 24, 2012, 11:33:10 AM »
So you got the clear modem for there, but anything connected to it wont get on the net?

What is the model of the clear hub?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Camerashy

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #23 on: September 24, 2012, 11:53:13 AM »
The model is WIXFBR-131 and yes...can't connect but can with WiMax...and now is.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #24 on: September 24, 2012, 11:57:34 AM »
So they set you up with it and they didn't even make sure anyone could get on the internet with it? Nice support they give lol

I am not sure what to have you try as this is their modem and their own support couldnt get you going. When they helped you did they make sure your computer is getting an IP address from the new modem?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Camerashy

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #25 on: September 24, 2012, 12:14:17 PM »
Thats what they couldn't DO!!! He said I need ANOTHER computer. I said what? do people have more than one like...often? He said he will give me addresses of the places where I can go and try another PC...and I do have PC at home but I couldn't connect to Internet either...

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #26 on: September 24, 2012, 02:53:54 PM »
He was a nut case lol

Your current computer gets on the internet fine. When he had you hook to the new modem how did you have the computer hooked to it?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Router confusion
« Reply #26 on: September 24, 2012, 02:53:54 PM »