Author Topic: Router confusion  (Read 47098 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Camerashy

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Router confusion
« on: January 07, 2012, 09:16:47 AM »
I am using clear.net as my internet provider.
I am having a modem at home and USB modem at work for my laptop.

Yesterday I have installed security cameras at my store and it is required for me to have a regular modem for me to able to view DVR's recording on my laprop.

Someone told me:
"The easiest way to connect would be with a router now that I look at it. A router will give an IP address to your laptop and the camera gear. The other option is a network hub like I mentioned, but you'll need to know how to manually enter IP address information on both your laptop and the camera gear..

Probably the best option is a wireless router. You plug the camera gear in with a cable to the router, but your laptop can use the wireless. "

What do you suggest?

PcWinTech.com Forums

Router confusion
« on: January 07, 2012, 09:16:47 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2012, 12:48:37 PM »
I am using clear.net as my internet provider.

I am sorry, so so sorry LOL
I was stuck with clearwire (now clear) for 3 years. Cell phone based internet. Ever had a bad cell call? Imagine a internet connection like that. Drove me NUTS!

Anyways now that I am done complaining like a little girl back to work :tongue:

Networking is easy once you get the hang of it.

An internet provider will give you only 1 ip address. You use a router to take the 1 IP and route it to more systems, thus the name router.

Then you setup port forwarding for your cameras so you can access them
http://www.pcwintech.com/what-port-forwarding-nutshell

So here a simple setup for the office with the cameras.

Get an internet connection there, a good one with enough speed to handle the upload of the video.
Then hook up a router, do you need wireless or not? That depends.

Is anything going to be far away from the router and a network cable wont work? Then get wireless. Is everything together and cables work fine? Then use network cables.

Every device plugged into the router will have internet access.

Once you get to that point let me know and I can answer any questions you have so you can access the cameras.

Shane
« Last Edit: January 09, 2012, 02:08:59 PM by Shane »
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Camerashy

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2012, 05:55:47 AM »
Shane!
I must be that case which does not understand when it chewed up finely for them :thinking:
Like I said I have my USB modem that works fine and it has nothing to do with telephone.
My USB modem plugged into my laptop.
Accessing internet is a breeze.
Cameras were installed and DVR is a foot away from my laptop.
Now I need to figure out how to view whatever DVR is recording on my laptop screen.
Everything you wrote makes me think...I am too dumb to live!
Can you help me anyway?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2012, 02:10:16 PM »
Quote
Everything you wrote makes me think...I am too dumb to live!

Don't worry you'll be fine :-)

Ok so lets start fresh.

Right now your laptop gets on the internet through the usb connection.

How is the DVR currently on the internet? What is it plugged into?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Camerashy

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2012, 10:54:30 AM »
So you asked me what is DVR doing right now...and I say it is just
plugged in and recording.

I am confused because when I am running Lorex Port Forwarding - I
can't find my WiMax in the list of routers but when I click little
button next to Router IP address - it comes up with full name!


Document attached.

So my understanding is that IF Lorax can se WiMAx - why can't WiMax BE a router?

Thanks

Offline Camerashy

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2012, 11:15:44 AM »
Shaun! There is something I want t explain that you might be able to use.
I was told that Clear use to give static IP address for $10/mo additionally and they had stopped so this is why its not ok to use WiMax as a router.

However I am thinking what if I went to Control panel/Network Connections/Propeerty/InternetProtocol and will enter IP address and Subnet and Gateway as I ave it now...wouldn't tha make it static as suposed to have 'Obtain IP address automatically' checked?

I am afraid if I do this I will brake my Internet Connetion period.
However I am thinking it will not supposed to brake anything.
Because yesterday I had
IP 50.11.237.138
Sub 255.255.192.0
Gateway 50.11.192.1
and same I can see today...exactly the same thing.

Thanks

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2012, 11:27:30 AM »
So your computer has the IP 50.11.xxx.xxx?

The what do you have the DVR plugged into?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Camerashy

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #7 on: September 19, 2012, 11:33:00 AM »
Ok. Dumb answer. Into the wall. A feet away from my laptop.
If I understand correctly you want to know where is the router?
And I want my WiMax to BE a router because I can not afford ANOTHER internet for $120 per month (for businesses its a killer) just to see that one of my customers bit the apple!!! Do you understand? I had paid $400 for the cameras and NOW they telling me I have to have Comcast or Verizon as an Internet provider. And I am in contract with Clear....urghhhhhhhhh...

Please help if you can.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2012, 11:37:05 AM »
I mean how do you have the DVR plugged into the network?

Is the clear modem you got only a usb adapter? If so then it isnt going to work.

What you need is a normal modem from them, not usb. With USB you can only have 1 device on the internet. If you get a proper modem from them you can hook multiple devices to the internet. Which means your DVR as well as your laptop.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Camerashy

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2012, 12:04:56 PM »
Oops! :omg:
However I have reg clear modem at home and Ican bring it to work...will that help?
If so - what do I have to do? :confused:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #10 on: September 19, 2012, 12:19:33 PM »
It should. You may need to call clear to find out.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Camerashy

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #11 on: September 19, 2012, 12:36:56 PM »
Wait! Are you dropping me here alone with Clear?
I think it is Lorexe's issue. Isn't it?
What if I have non Clear modem? Then what?
Will I have to choose name of the router from the router list? and go on checking connection?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #12 on: September 19, 2012, 12:41:06 PM »
Im not dropping you lol

And this isnt a lorex problem. You dont even have the DVR hooked to the internet. You need to call your ISP and have them get you setup properly so you can hook more than one device to the net.

The DVR has to be hooked onto the internet to be viewed online. And to view it over the network locally still needs to be hooked to a network. Right now from the sounds of it you just have the power hooked up and no network at all to it.

I am not with lorex. I made their port forwarding software and help their users with port forwarding problems.

Right now you are not even to that point until you have the DVR hooked up to the internet :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Camerashy

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #13 on: September 19, 2012, 12:48:25 PM »
So how do I get hooked to Internet?
And whats ISP?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router confusion
« Reply #14 on: September 19, 2012, 12:51:15 PM »
ISP = Internet Service Provider. In this case Clear.

Quote
So how do I get hooked to Internet?

Thats why you need to call them. Let them know that you have multiple devices that need hooked up and that you need a proper modem for your office.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Router confusion
« Reply #14 on: September 19, 2012, 12:51:15 PM »