Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Will static ip affect other programs?  (Read 5972 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline eaw

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Dec 2011
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Will static ip affect other programs?
« on: December 04, 2011, 09:34:57 AM »
I am using utorrent and it was running fine until last week.  Don't know for sure why it stopped.  I am getting green lights on utorrent for speed and port forwarding but your port status tool says "53242 is offline and can not be reached" and canyouseeme.org says same.  I am unable to see any torrents, so I believe this is correct.  As an aside, your PF program does not see my incoming windows7 firewall exceptions and I have re-set them twice.  I have also noticed that the ip address listed in the PF program (192.168.1.3) does show up in the ipscanner (192.168.1.1 and 192.168.1.8).  Not sure what this means other than .3 is not being seen. Not sure what to try next but saw your page about static ip.  I am using a netgear wrt614v7, windows 7, and a moto cable modem connecting to comcast.  Anyway, I am afraid if I do this static ip thing it might mess up the ability of other programs to access the internet or connect to me remotely via vpn, etc.  What do you think?  Any ideas or suggestions?
Thanks
Ed
« Last Edit: December 04, 2011, 10:12:06 AM by eaw »

PcWinTech.com Forums

Will static ip affect other programs?
« on: December 04, 2011, 09:34:57 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Will static ip affect other programs?
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2011, 11:38:37 AM »
the PF program isnt mine, that's portforward.com's. Mine is Simple Port forwarding.

If you have trouble with their programs you need to post in their forums :wink:

Besides all that a static IP wouldn't affect any programs.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline eaw

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Dec 2011
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Will static ip affect other programs?
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2011, 12:48:22 PM »
Simple port forwarding and other "simple" tools from Shane's tool box are what I am using.  Sorry for the confusion.  So can you tell me why I am all green on utorrents but cannot be seen?  Or why the ip address is not the same as router is configured for and whether I need to change this?  Or go to static IP?  Any help appreciated.  This is wearing me down!
Thanks
Ed

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Will static ip affect other programs?
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2011, 09:05:16 PM »
Some (And I mean a lot) of ISP's will start blocking or throttling heavily used ports. It would be a good idea to change the port utorrent is using from time to time.

utorrent supports UPnP which is auto port forwarding. Just make sure it is enabled in the router.

If using UPnP you have no need to set a static IP on your computer :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline eaw

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Dec 2011
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Will static ip affect other programs?
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2011, 12:41:27 PM »
Is there a reason you advise against static ip?
Once I did that it worked, but I want to make sure I'm not missing anything.
Thanks

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Will static ip affect other programs?
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2011, 05:33:13 PM »
Only reason for static IP is if for some reason you don't want your local IP to ever change. Other than that there is nothing special about it :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Will static ip affect other programs?
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2011, 05:33:13 PM »