Author Topic: connect my dvr to internet via stc  (Read 21712 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Maytt077

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
Re: connect my dvr to internet via stc
« Reply #15 on: November 28, 2011, 01:05:25 PM »
this is how network screen look like on my dvr

Network type     static
ip       I used my dvr ip 192.168
Gateway   I have it from my pc I am not really. does it have 2 be 196.168.1.1???
netmask   255.255.255.000
primary dns   i dont know what 2 put on here
secondary dns  also here no idea
port     i used 08080

Please help me with this

 :smiley:

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: connect my dvr to internet via stc
« Reply #15 on: November 28, 2011, 01:05:25 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: connect my dvr to internet via stc
« Reply #16 on: November 28, 2011, 01:06:39 PM »
gateway and dns will be the same as on your computer :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Maytt077

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
Re: connect my dvr to internet via stc
« Reply #17 on: November 28, 2011, 01:10:03 PM »
I know how 2 get gateway from my pc. What about primary and secondary dns?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: connect my dvr to internet via stc
« Reply #18 on: November 28, 2011, 01:11:32 PM »
ipconfig /all

But normally it is the same as the gateway :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Maytt077

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
Re: connect my dvr to internet via stc
« Reply #19 on: November 28, 2011, 01:23:35 PM »
 :confused:when i do ipconfig i get

i pv4 address 
subnet mask
default gateway ( ip address 4 my router) I changed it 2 config my pc wiith my dvr i used 192.168.1.254

on the dvr setting  should i use 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.1.254

for primary and sec dns i put same as gateway right?

thanks :smiley:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: connect my dvr to internet via stc
« Reply #20 on: November 28, 2011, 01:28:07 PM »
open a command window and put in ipconfig /all :wink:

Mimic all the setting except for the main IP address. Everything else should match.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Maytt077

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
Re: connect my dvr to internet via stc
« Reply #21 on: November 30, 2011, 03:15:20 AM »
Now it only works when I am in my store but when I go home it gives me "the ip address is not accessible".

Do I have to use the external ip address?

Thanks,
 

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: connect my dvr to internet via stc
« Reply #22 on: November 30, 2011, 08:19:27 AM »
Yes you use your internet IP from the store :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Maytt077

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
Re: connect my dvr to internet via stc
« Reply #23 on: November 30, 2011, 09:16:18 AM »
When i use my store ip, it does not work. I am not really sure what the problem is.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: connect my dvr to internet via stc
« Reply #24 on: November 30, 2011, 09:30:18 AM »
It works for me (If the post you just made was from the store) I used the IP from your last post.

"Any time & Any where
            IP Surveillance for Your Life"

http://2.88.XXX.XXX:8080/

Remeber when at the store you will use the local IP. When not at the store you will use the internet IP :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Maytt077

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
Re: connect my dvr to internet via stc
« Reply #25 on: December 09, 2011, 06:01:49 AM »
My internet IP keeps changing...What should I do??

thanks,

 :smiley:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: connect my dvr to internet via stc
« Reply #26 on: December 09, 2011, 10:28:59 AM »
Setup a dynamic DNS account :wink:

http://www.no-ip.com/

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Maytt077

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
Re: connect my dvr to internet via stc
« Reply #27 on: December 15, 2011, 12:09:24 PM »
could u please give me other websites for ddns? this website is blocked where i live  :sad:

thanks  :smiley:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: connect my dvr to internet via stc
« Reply #28 on: December 15, 2011, 02:14:11 PM »
Why on earth would they block that? Unless they dont want people able to use it and want them to pay for a static IP. Man some ISP's are a joke lol

Hopefully they haven't blocked them all :-)

http://dnslookup.me/dynamic-dns/

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: connect my dvr to internet via stc
« Reply #28 on: December 15, 2011, 02:14:11 PM »