Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Multiple Router message  (Read 16584 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #15 on: December 02, 2011, 12:37:43 PM »
First lets see if you setup the 2 routers correctly :wink:

Post a screen shot of the basic settings page in the netgear.
Then post a screen shot of the DMZ page in the modem

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #15 on: December 02, 2011, 12:37:43 PM »

Offline kilivolt

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #16 on: December 02, 2011, 08:41:14 PM »
I changed out the router in the shop to a network switch, so I only have the one router.  My internet is what I call microwave internet--wireless antenna (not satellite), so it has a POE connection that goes directly into my router, so I don't have an actual modem that I know of??

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #17 on: December 03, 2011, 11:49:23 AM »
I have the same kind of internet. They had me behind a 2nd network on their own. I made them give ma static internet IP which took me out of their 2nd network.

You are behind a 2nd network. Notice the 10.0.0.1 gateway the netgear has :wink:

Call your ISP and ask how much they change for a static internet IP. In order to give you a static Ip they have to move you out of that 2nd network. (This is what I did with my ISP, they are really cool though and didn't charge me, told them I'm a business and needed to be able to host things)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline kilivolt

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #18 on: December 03, 2011, 05:59:53 PM »
That would explain why when I called them about if they blocked any ports or not, they said they didn't and that if I wanted a static IP address it would be $10 a month, which is what they had to do with some of their other customers that did video survelliance. I'll call them back and see about getting the static IP, and I'm sure I may need some more help once I get that done. :smiley:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #19 on: December 03, 2011, 07:18:32 PM »
Once you have the static IP you should be set. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline kilivolt

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #20 on: December 12, 2011, 06:03:34 PM »
I finally had time to call my ISP today and get the static IP set up.  It took a couple of tries, but I was able to get the port forwarding up and working :smiley:  Thanks for all of your help.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #21 on: December 12, 2011, 07:32:27 PM »
Good to hear :-)

Since your all set I will lock this thread :wink:

And as always...
If your happy with my work. Then all I ask in return is you simply let others know about my site and programs. I help with anything computer or network related :-)
Also always feel free to make a post in the feedback forum.
And a facebook like at the top of the page of my site is nice as well. ;)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #21 on: December 12, 2011, 07:32:27 PM »