Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Multiple Router message  (Read 15324 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kilivolt

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Multiple Router message
« on: November 20, 2011, 07:58:32 PM »
I got the message on the Digimerge auto port forwarding program:
Possible multiple routers have been detected.
Extra configuration is needed before port forwarding will work correctly.
Please refer to support on www.lorexcctv.com for more details.

I cannot find anything on the lorexcctv website about the details.

PcWinTech.com Forums

Multiple Router message
« on: November 20, 2011, 07:58:32 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2011, 11:43:27 PM »
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline kilivolt

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2011, 05:29:22 AM »
My setup is my computer is hooked up to the first router, and I have 2 dvr's hooked up to the second router.  My initial problem is when I tied into the second router, I was able to view the dvr on my local network, but then when I took the computer back to the first router, I could not view the dvr. 

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2011, 12:11:05 PM »
That is because they are on a different IP range. You need to have them all hooked into the same router :wink:

Then setup the 2 routers like the guides says and then your port forwarding will work. :smiley:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline kilivolt

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2011, 04:15:32 PM »
I can't tie them into the same router as the second router and the dvr's are in a separate building, and I only have a single cat V cable ran from that building back to the house and tied into the main router, which is where I am trying to be able to view the cameras.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2011, 04:22:01 PM »
OK then in order to access them from both locally and from the internet you will need to do this.

First, setup the 2 routers as the guide says.

then to connect to them cameras locally you will use the WAN/Internet IP of the router they are connected to :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline kilivolt

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2011, 07:05:46 PM »
Still having trouble getting the routers set up to work.  What if I would change out the second router to a network switch instead?  Would that keep everything on the same IP range and make the setup easier?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2011, 07:40:40 PM »
Yes it would :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline kilivolt

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #8 on: November 22, 2011, 06:46:17 PM »
I picked up a switch instead and installed it tonight.  Worked perfect on viewing on my local network.  My port forwarding works on all of the router tests on my network, but I am still not able to view it off of my local network.  I haven't been able to check with my internet service provider, but Digimerge tech support thought there is a good chance that my service is set with the ports blocked, and I will need to get them to unblock them.   Thanks for your quick responses to my questions and your help.  If I find the ports aren't blocked by my provider, I may be reaching out for help again.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #9 on: November 22, 2011, 07:48:12 PM »
I will be here if you need me :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline kilivolt

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #10 on: November 22, 2011, 08:26:03 PM »
I wasn't able to get a hold of my service provider tonight, so I thought I'd get your opinion.  I did the port forwarding program from Digimerge, and when I go to the router test, I am able to view the cameras thru the IP address and thru the DDNS service when I am on my local network, both on my computer and on my I phone.  When I change the phone over to the cell service from my wi-fi connection, however, I am unable to connect to the dvr.  At first Digimerge wanted to make sure I was putting the port # at the end of my DDNS IP, but I do have it on there.  This was where I was at with them when they said there was a good chance that my ISP was blocking the ports.  What do you think? 

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #11 on: November 22, 2011, 08:50:53 PM »
Very possible.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline kilivolt

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #12 on: November 23, 2011, 10:06:39 AM »
According to my ISP, they only block port 25 for email so that it apparently not my problem. Any suggestions on what settings to check? :undecided:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #13 on: November 23, 2011, 03:58:39 PM »
Lets find out if port forwarding is working :wink:

Set up a port forwarding rule to your computer, say 1979. Then use my port tester
http://www.pcwintech.com/simple-port-tester

Let me know if it passes. :smiley:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline kilivolt

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #14 on: December 01, 2011, 07:54:37 PM »
Sorry it took so long to get back with you--been busy with work.  I tried the port forwad test, both with ones that I let the Digimerge auto port forward do, and me doing it manually, but it failed with both.  My router is a Netgear WNDR3400.  I have tried looking thru other forums to see if I could figure out my problem, but not much luck so far.  I have noticed that the IP address on the port tester is different than the one that comes up on the router login if that helps. :thinking:

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Multiple Router message
« Reply #14 on: December 01, 2011, 07:54:37 PM »