Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: TP LINK TL-WA500G issue with internet  (Read 13946 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline xennion

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
TP LINK TL-WA500G issue with internet
« on: November 17, 2011, 05:56:22 AM »
Hi,

anyone has any experience with this AP?  Trying to use Client mode so that my lappy can use it as a Wireless card.

Bought this today., replicate what Yumyum did in another post but can't seem to make it work.

Seems that the ROuter connects to AP and AP connects to lappy - that's fine (Router--AP--computer/Laptop) - Windows 7 64bit.

Proble is unable to get internet via AP - not working for both wireless and ethernet cable.


I think the issue revolve around my computer IP, AP' IP and the router (but that's just my guess). Could also be that I need to set something on the netgear router? Like port forward? But i've not read about that much.

Anyone had similar problem?

« Last Edit: November 17, 2011, 05:59:54 AM by xennion »

PcWinTech.com Forums

TP LINK TL-WA500G issue with internet
« on: November 17, 2011, 05:56:22 AM »

Online Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 15,622
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 471
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: TP LINK TL-WA500G issue with internet
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2011, 12:32:13 PM »
Does the AP have a repeater mode? That is where you put in the ID and password of the main wireless and it will repeat the signal from its location.

AP mode will be just like a router, it is another access point. So you will need to have it connect to the main wireless (Make sure it gets an IP from it) and then have it setup on its own as well. :wink:

The trick to know if it is working is the AP should be getting an IP from the main router.

Shane
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline xennion

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
Re: TP LINK TL-WA500G issue with internet
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2011, 01:08:25 PM »
Thanks mate.

I will try that after work. SPent hours before coming here. Hopefully it will work.

Will that access point allow me to connect via ethernet cable?. Im trying to use the TP LINK as a pseudo wifi card. I guess that means the TP LINK will steal the internet and pass on to my lappy via the ethernet cable. WIll this be a difference setup?

To assign the TP LINK an IP address automatically via router, how do I do that? Sorry, I'm not used to setting up network. It always confuses me. :(

Online Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 15,622
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 471
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: TP LINK TL-WA500G issue with internet
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2011, 01:12:55 PM »
I am not sure if the internet will go through the network port. It should though, some dont.

When you plug in the network cable does the AP give your computer a local IP address? Or do you have to specify one in order to get logged into it.
If the AP give you an IP then you should be able to use the network port for internet.

I havent setup this AP before so I cant give you step by step. But the main thing is to see if there is a repeater mode first. If there is you put in the SSID and password of the wireless on the main router and you should be set :wink:

Shane
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline xennion

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
Re: TP LINK TL-WA500G issue with internet
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2011, 01:44:41 PM »
Hi!

I think it does because the manual says its possible via client mode. Also, this guy yumyum posted a similar question which you resolved except that it was for connecting to xbox.

How do you assign ip automatically?
Is it something called dhcp?

Yes i have repeater mode but i cant detect signal from tp link. Strange! But anyway i prefer to use ethernet cable coz its lagging one of my program..

Online Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 15,622
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 471
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: TP LINK TL-WA500G issue with internet
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2011, 05:43:25 PM »
If it cant detect the wireless from the router how do you have it connecting?

Shane
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline xennion

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
Re: TP LINK TL-WA500G issue with internet
« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2011, 05:54:06 PM »
Ethernet cable. But the issue is no internet coming from the cable. Yum yum had this problem for his xbox but it works for his pc. Mine doesnt work for my pc.

Online Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 15,622
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 471
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: TP LINK TL-WA500G issue with internet
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2011, 05:59:05 PM »
Yeah that port is to give internet from the AP not give the AP internet. You have to have the AP connect to the main router via wireless, thats why your not getting any internet :wink:

http://www.tp-link.com/resources/software/TL-WA500G_User_Guide_201003.pdf

Shane
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline xennion

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
Re: TP LINK TL-WA500G issue with internet
« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2011, 06:23:25 PM »
Hi!

I spent 3 hrs yest on the guide and it never worked. I followed all the steps.

What i did was connect to ap with cable to pc. Then connected ap to internet/router. But no net coming in :(

Theres an ap mode but i dont think that is the one. I should be using client mode?

Online Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 15,622
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 471
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: TP LINK TL-WA500G issue with internet
« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2011, 06:28:29 PM »
Get logged into the AP, find the wireless settings. Put in the ID and password for your wireless network there. Try to match everything up. With that info it should connect to your wireless and you will be good to go :-)

Shane
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline xennion

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
Re: TP LINK TL-WA500G issue with internet
« Reply #10 on: November 17, 2011, 07:16:09 PM »
Just realised you are the one replying to all. I'll give it a go when i get off work.

Then i'll read again all the post here and try that. Otherwise i'll post some screenies and maybe we can identify a problem there.

I somehow have a very strong feeling its IP related. ; )

Online Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 15,622
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 471
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: TP LINK TL-WA500G issue with internet
« Reply #11 on: November 17, 2011, 07:46:27 PM »
Yeah its just me that runs the site and forum :-)

Let me know how it goes.

Shane
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline xennion

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
Re: TP LINK TL-WA500G issue with internet
« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2011, 10:45:05 PM »
mad props to you sir!

Ok its 5.30 NOW!! gonna pack up!

Offline xennion

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
Re: TP LINK TL-WA500G issue with internet
« Reply #13 on: November 18, 2011, 04:15:58 AM »
This Link is helpful:

http://www.tp-link.com/en/article/?articleid=173

BUt i cant seem to find this part :

2.     If you have a broadband router which provide you Internet connection, please re-configure the IP settings of your computer to Obtain an IP address automatically to suitable for the router in order to connect to Internet after done the settings in TL-WA501G/TL-WA601G.

How do you Obtain an IP address automatically ? After doing this, I can use this part to complete setup (hopefully): http://www.tp-link.com/en/article/?id=177

I can;t find my model TL-WA500G but i guess 501G is similar.

Offline xennion

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
Re: TP LINK TL-WA500G issue with internet
« Reply #14 on: November 18, 2011, 04:53:43 AM »
I have fixed it now. I had to guess what to do.


The answer was going to the Network page of the TP LINK and setting the IP to match the Main Router's IP (192.168.0.1). I had to change the TP-Links address to 192.168.0.2 (something about matching it to subnet). Then it that page it also ask me to put in the gateway, and the answer here is to put in the Main Router's IP (192.168.0.1).

Once that is done we must now go to DHCP server page and ENABLE IT!!! This is not on by default!

In there I left Start IP address, End IP address , address lease time as defaults. Now the KEY point here is entering the Default Gateway to your Main Router's IP (192.168.0.1 in my case). AND the DNS server (I had to pull this information from my Main Router's setup page, apparently you get that from your ISP). Then hit SAVE.

After this , go to TP LINK setup page and look for "WIreless Mode" and set it to "Client" and connect that to your Main ROuter. Then go into "security settings" and key in the WEP code that you used to connect to main router. Then press Save.

Still on the TP LINKs setup, go to System Tools and look for REBOOT. Then there, click Reboot. ALl should be done!


They should have made that instruction in their manual which wasn't the case at all. And the FAQ provided needed quite a bit of guesswork as it doesn't talk about DHCP settings at all (or maybe it does but i never found that link!).

Thanks again Shane for posting!



PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: TP LINK TL-WA500G issue with internet
« Reply #14 on: November 18, 2011, 04:53:43 AM »

 

email