Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: icons  (Read 20600 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
icons
« on: September 21, 2011, 03:30:33 PM »
Hi Shane

   The cleanmem, drive speedometer and simple internet meter lite icons in system tray will not stay hidden when I reboot the system, I have to go back and hide them every time. Any ideas on how to fix this.

Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

PcWinTech.com Forums

icons
« on: September 21, 2011, 03:30:33 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: icons
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2011, 04:18:10 PM »
You mean the Windows hide icon feature? Might be because the icon is always getting updated. Have you tried turning off the show percentage in tray icon? When you turn it off it only shows the static icon.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
Re: icons
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2011, 04:30:31 PM »
Yes the windows hide icon feature. For all three programs I have them on the desk top and hide them in the system tray. I'v had the update percentages turned off from day (cleanmem). I have the icon static for simple internet meter lite. For drive speedometer I dont see a static setting for that icon. Like I said, I keep all three hidden in the system tray and use the meters on the desk top.
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: icons
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2011, 04:34:00 PM »
So you hide them, they stay hidden. Then you reboot and they are not hidden any more?
Then you hide them again and your good till next reboot Correct?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
Re: icons
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2011, 04:37:48 PM »
Thats Correct. It has to be someting stupid I'v done. I'm good like that
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: icons
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2011, 04:40:15 PM »
But it only happens to my 3 programs and not others right?

All 3 use the same code for the tray icon, which is just some Windows API calls.

I wonder if it has something to do when the tray icon is first created.

Do this, hide the icon, close the program and reopen it. Is the icon hidden? If not then perhaps something in my create icon code is doing something I am not aware of.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
Re: icons
« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2011, 04:45:06 PM »
Okay, I'll give it a shot tomorrow, gotta step away for a while. I'll post ya back and let you know if this works.
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
Re: icons
« Reply #7 on: September 22, 2011, 05:14:15 AM »
Your request may have worked, I tried it, but i also failed to mention it doesn't happen every boot, about 8 out of 10 times it does. So I'll give it some time to check and see if your solution worked. Thanks
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: icons
« Reply #8 on: September 22, 2011, 08:41:15 AM »
Let me know :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
Re: icons
« Reply #9 on: September 22, 2011, 02:30:39 PM »
Shane

   Your icon solution worked for a while, but on my last reboot (from the mtu thing) they started to reappear.

Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: icons
« Reply #10 on: September 22, 2011, 02:38:15 PM »
Quote
I wonder if it has something to do when the tray icon is first created.

Do this, hide the icon, close the program and reopen it. Is the icon hidden? If not then perhaps something in my create icon code is doing something I am not aware of.

It actually wasn't a fix lol
I was trying to find the problem lol

So try this again and let me know the results :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
Re: icons
« Reply #11 on: September 22, 2011, 02:40:48 PM »
Okay will do

Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
Re: icons
« Reply #12 on: September 22, 2011, 04:06:23 PM »
Does the same thing. It's completely random. Sometimes they stay hidden and sometimes they don't.

Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: icons
« Reply #13 on: September 22, 2011, 04:07:24 PM »
I am not sure it is my programs. No other icons do it? just mine? Do you have any other apps that make animated tray icons?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
Re: icons
« Reply #14 on: September 22, 2011, 04:12:18 PM »
 Process lasso does it to. I agree, I don't think it is your programs, but know other programs I have running do it. It must be some configuration in my computer on these programs.
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: icons
« Reply #14 on: September 22, 2011, 04:12:18 PM »