Author Topic: a little confused  (Read 5256 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline andrew.d.p

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
a little confused
« on: September 11, 2011, 02:42:05 AM »
ive been playing games on my ps3 via a wireless connection to a thomson TG782T for some time, i recently purchased the new warhammer 40k Space marine game and am now unable to play this online, the error i am getting is that my NAT is not set to open, ive checked and rechecked my router settings and they are set to type 2, UPnP is on.

i followed some advice on other topics relating to this router model and now have lost UPnP and is now type 3...

any suggestions?

PcWinTech.com Forums

a little confused
« on: September 11, 2011, 02:42:05 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: a little confused
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2011, 03:04:56 PM »
Normally UPnP is all  you need and your good to go. UPnP is auto port forwarding, so remove any port forwarding rules, enable UPnP, save and then power cycle the router.

Once back up reboot your PS3 and see if you get nat 2 back. If other games work fine and this one doesn't then it could be something with the game. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline andrew.d.p

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: a little confused
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2011, 06:04:59 PM »
ok did as you said and my ps3 recognizes that UPnP is available and is NAT type 2, however the game itself still tells me that my NAT is not set to open.

i may have to contact relic/THQ to see if other people have had the same issue.

thank you again shane.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: a little confused
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2011, 07:34:39 PM »
Good to hear you got NAT 2 back. If you have UPnP working, and other games work fine then you know it might be something with the game :wink:

Let me know what you find out.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline andrew.d.p

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: a little confused
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2011, 10:16:56 PM »
quote from the forum relating to this game.

"Matchmaking on PS3: Update 9/9 5:25pm
Our team has isolated the issue and has a patch in with our QA team to verify the matchmaking issue is resolved. Again we are working as fast as we can to resolve the problem. Keep in mind you are still able to join matchmaking games in the meantime, but the wait times can exceed over 35minutes.

Pre-order Skins Not Showing Up / Working
 Steam Skins are now showing up within the Customizer. In regards to BestBuy & GameStop codes, you need to redeem those with the code they provide you. Both Console and PC users who purchase the retail copy of the game (In a Local store or online) should be provided a redeem code for their skins.

Graphic Issues & Flickering:
Please review this thread: http://www.spacemarine.com/forums/topic/4685

PS3 NAT issues:
This is a UI bug and is not something that is affecting your online performance. We have a fix coming to resolve this improperly reported error."


so it seems i spent all this time trying to fix my router when it is an error within the game >.<

thanks again shane, your help is appreciated.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: a little confused
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2011, 11:37:52 PM »
Thanks for posting an update :cheesy:

I will lock this thread :wink:

And as always...
If your happy with my work. Then all I ask in return is you simply let others know about my site and programs. I help with anything computer or network related :-)
Also always feel free to make a post in the feedback forum.
And a facebook like at the top of the page of my site is nice as well. ;)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: a little confused
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2011, 11:37:52 PM »

 

email