Author Topic: How to setup up TP Link WA500G??  (Read 110548 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline YuM YuM

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
How to setup up TP Link WA500G??
« on: September 05, 2011, 12:42:56 PM »
Hey guys, I'm a newbie  :smiley: As you can see, I've been trying to setup this TP Link WA500G for my xbox. I'm trying to connect the AP to a D Link DSL 2680, so that I can play wirelessly on my xbox. It worked perfectly when I plugged it straight into my router using an ethernet cable, but I just don't seem able to set the AP up properly. Can anyone give me a Step by Step? Thanks.

PcWinTech.com Forums

How to setup up TP Link WA500G??
« on: September 05, 2011, 12:42:56 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: How to setup up TP Link WA500G??
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2011, 02:35:03 PM »
How do you currently have everything set up?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline YuM YuM

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
Re: How to setup up TP Link WA500G??
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2011, 01:39:45 AM »
Hi, shane. I currently have my router(D Link DSL 2680) in my living room, and my TP Link WA500G 3 floors up in my room. I'm trying to use the AP in client mode with my xbox connected to it with an ethernet cable, but it just isn't working.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: How to setup up TP Link WA500G??
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2011, 03:10:16 PM »
Is the TP Link able to get a wireless connection from the D-Link, or do you have a network cable running to it?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline YuM YuM

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
Re: How to setup up TP Link WA500G??
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2011, 07:24:56 AM »
Well, the I have set the TP Link up to connect with my D Link, and it shows that it is sending and receiving packets to and from my network, but I still have no internet connection. I was also thinking if I have to enter my network password into the AP somehow..

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: How to setup up TP Link WA500G??
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2011, 08:46:10 AM »
The TP Link wont work right if it doesn't have the password for the wireless :wink:

Get the password set in the tp link and I think you will start working.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline YuM YuM

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
Re: How to setup up TP Link WA500G??
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2011, 08:48:39 AM »
That's what I was thinking, but I just don't seem to be able to find the place to input the password. I can access the web configuration but can't find where to enter my network password :S

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: How to setup up TP Link WA500G??
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2011, 08:56:06 AM »
It should be in the same place where you put in the wireless name for it to connect to.

Post a screen shot if you can :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline YuM YuM

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
Re: How to setup up TP Link WA500G??
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2011, 09:01:23 AM »
I'll post a screenie a bit later as using my computer to play a bit of COD  :tongue:

Offline YuM YuM

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
Re: How to setup up TP Link WA500G??
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2011, 07:27:41 AM »
Hey here the screenies.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: How to setup up TP Link WA500G??
« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2011, 11:01:09 AM »
OK the last picture is the one, on wireless security. That should be the same password setup as the wireless down stairs. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline YuM YuM

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
Re: How to setup up TP Link WA500G??
« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2011, 11:02:41 AM »
Ohhhhhhhhhhhhh hopefully it will work! Thanks.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: How to setup up TP Link WA500G??
« Reply #12 on: September 08, 2011, 11:03:40 AM »
Let me know :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline YuM YuM

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
Re: How to setup up TP Link WA500G??
« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2011, 11:08:55 AM »
Will do :)

Offline YuM YuM

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
Re: How to setup up TP Link WA500G??
« Reply #14 on: September 08, 2011, 12:03:46 PM »
Hey thanks Shane! It's finally working on my laptop, but still not working on my xbox any configuration needed on the xbox side?
« Last Edit: September 08, 2011, 12:09:26 PM by YuM YuM »

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: How to setup up TP Link WA500G??
« Reply #14 on: September 08, 2011, 12:03:46 PM »