Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: A dual core question  (Read 7086 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline peereli

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 1
A dual core question
« on: August 26, 2011, 10:15:49 PM »
If a system runs on one 2GB ddr3 stick I understand that it will not make a use of the dual core benefits.
My question is if it worthwhile to change to 2 sticks of 1GB each or stay with the 2GB stick ? Will it make much of a difference ?
OS :MS windows XP pro sp3
Processor :AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual core 3800, 2009Mhz.
Mother board :Gygabyte M61 PM-S2
Ram :3GB
Disk space :149.05 GB
Default browser:Pale Moon
Protection :Avast,Sandboxie,Private firewall

PcWinTech.com Forums

A dual core question
« on: August 26, 2011, 10:15:49 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: A dual core question
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2011, 10:20:36 PM »
You can run it in dual channel if the board supports it.

The benefit is twice the bandwidth it can handle. 1 slot can only go so fast, by using 2 slots you get the bandwidth of both :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline peereli

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 1
Re: A dual core question
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2011, 10:33:03 PM »
Thanks for your reply Shane.
If the benefit is twice the band width, what will I feel different as a user?
OS :MS windows XP pro sp3
Processor :AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual core 3800, 2009Mhz.
Mother board :Gygabyte M61 PM-S2
Ram :3GB
Disk space :149.05 GB
Default browser:Pale Moon
Protection :Avast,Sandboxie,Private firewall

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: A dual core question
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2011, 10:34:01 PM »
Nothing unless you use something heavy in memory, like gaming :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline peereli

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 1
Re: A dual core question
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2011, 10:47:25 PM »
Nothing unless you use something heavy in memory, like gaming :wink:

Shane
Thanks Shane.
OS :MS windows XP pro sp3
Processor :AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual core 3800, 2009Mhz.
Mother board :Gygabyte M61 PM-S2
Ram :3GB
Disk space :149.05 GB
Default browser:Pale Moon
Protection :Avast,Sandboxie,Private firewall

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: A dual core question
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2011, 10:47:25 PM »