Author Topic: Port-Forwarding troubles  (Read 8650 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Waverunner

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2011
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Port-Forwarding troubles
« on: August 20, 2011, 05:35:43 AM »
I have been trying for months and months to get port-forwarding to work on my linksys WRT160Nv2 router for port-forwarding had have tried everything from disabling firewalls, adding ports to windows firewall, etc. but then I found out that I had a 2nd router. So I went to the router's gateway and typed in admin hoping it would work and it did. It's a thompson router and I have no idea what I have to do to allow me to port forward on it. Google isn't being very helpful right now. The Thomson Router is a DWG855T

Thanks,
Wave

Edit: I found the part for the DMZ host and put in the IP adress, but it still won't work. Using the PortForward Port Checker it says that my routers can be pinged, but the port isn't reachable.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2011, 04:31:28 PM by Waverunner »

PcWinTech.com Forums

Port-Forwarding troubles
« on: August 20, 2011, 05:35:43 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port-Forwarding troubles
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2011, 03:06:37 PM »
I don't support portforward.com's programs. So for here lets use my port tester :-)
http://www.pcwintech.com/simple-port-tester

So if you have already read this
http://www.pcwintech.com/how-setup-two-or-more-routers-together-port-forwarding-port-triggering

Then you will have noticed the Thomson doesn't have a DMZ option. No problem here is what you do.

1. Log into the linksys, go to the status page, and write down the internet IP it shows.
2. Log into the Thomson, we are going to do 2 port forwarding rules.
http://www.pcwintech.com/thomson-generic-guide-1-all-models

Do 2 rules, 1 for TCP ports 1000 - 65000 and another one for UDP 1000 - 65000
Make sure both rules point to the IP you wrote down :wink:

Once done try my port tester. Does it still fail? Then I need to check the rules.

Post a screen shot of the port tester results. And then a screen shot of the port forwarding page in the linksys and Thomson :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Waverunner

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2011
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port-Forwarding troubles
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2011, 04:22:24 PM »
I put in the information that you requested me too, however when I press Apply the page refreshes and shows nothing in the boxes anymore. I seen a DMZ host option, but I'm not sure if that would do anything. Here's a screenshot of the page I'm at.

I used your portchecker and it says that it failed.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port-Forwarding troubles
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2011, 04:24:55 PM »
Ah! Older Thomson :-)

Grab a screen shot of the DMZ page in it, and also what is the Internet IP of the linksys on the status page?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Waverunner

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2011
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port-Forwarding troubles
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2011, 04:26:44 PM »
IP is 192.168.0.11

Screenshot attached that you requested

Also, the model is actually DWG855T looking at the sticker on it.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2011, 04:31:14 PM by Waverunner »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port-Forwarding troubles
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2011, 04:36:47 PM »
Ok on that DMZ page put 11 in the box and hit apply :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Waverunner

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2011
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port-Forwarding troubles
« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2011, 04:40:06 PM »
Did that, your port checker says failed.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port-Forwarding troubles
« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2011, 04:42:08 PM »
Unplug the power to the Thomson and plug it back in, on those ones I think they need rebooted.

Also get me a screen shot of the port forwarding page in the linksys. And make sure DMZ is off in the linksys as well. I also need the screen shot of the port tester results, this will let me see the current local IP :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Waverunner

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2011
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port-Forwarding troubles
« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2011, 04:48:58 PM »
Unplugged thomson router, and the linksys one too but still gave me a failed error. I went into the linksys and made sure that DMZ is off and it is.


Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port-Forwarding troubles
« Reply #9 on: August 20, 2011, 04:54:44 PM »
Ok lets try something.

I have found a bug in some of the linksys routers. I know because my linksys has this bug and I haven't been able to get linksys to even listen to me about it lol

Here is what I want you to do. In the linksys remove the rule from the port range forwarding page and then manually put the rule on the single port forwarding page.

In my linksys all the rules no matter what they are on the port range page only work for about 10 min after power cycling the router, but on the single port page always work. Also DMZ also works.

Last time I tried to get Linksys tech support to listen, they told me I must be doing something wrong LOL
Told them, how could I be doing something wrong, its a freaking port forwarding rule!
All they said was they will let their bosses know. This was 9 months ago now :tongue:

SO lets see if your router has the same problem as mine :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Waverunner

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2011
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port-Forwarding troubles
« Reply #10 on: August 20, 2011, 04:58:08 PM »
WOW! Looks like it does lol

It worked, thanks a ton for your help!

I would of never even guessed to do that.


Can't thank you enough :)

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port-Forwarding troubles
« Reply #11 on: August 20, 2011, 05:01:21 PM »
Really wish I could get Linksys tech support to listen to me lol
DMZ, Single port forwarding and UPnP all work fine, it is the port range forwarding that has the bug.

Since your all fixed I will lock this thread. :wink:

And as always...
If your happy with my work. Then all I ask in return is you simply let others know about my site and programs. I help with anything computer or network related :-)
Also always feel free to make a post in the feedback forum.
And a facebook like at the top of the page of my site is nice as well. ;)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Port-Forwarding troubles
« Reply #11 on: August 20, 2011, 05:01:21 PM »