Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Detect Multiple Routers  (Read 14059 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cordell23

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jun 2011
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Detect Multiple Routers
« on: June 29, 2011, 10:24:13 PM »
HI, I downloaded Detect Multiple Routers but every time I try to open it, it opens then closes. Am I doing something wrong?

PcWinTech.com Forums

Detect Multiple Routers
« on: June 29, 2011, 10:24:13 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Detect Multiple Routers
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2011, 11:40:11 PM »
Try removing the manifest file in the same folder and see if that helps.

Let me know :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline cordell23

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jun 2011
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: Detect Multiple Routers
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2011, 03:52:21 PM »
It is working now. Thank you!

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Re: Detect Multiple Routers
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2011, 05:05:32 PM »
Did deleting the manifest file fix the problem or did you do something else?

Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

Offline hrkelley

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Detect Multiple Routers
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2011, 05:52:12 AM »
I suffer the same problem.  The file comes as an executable.  How do I remove the manifest?

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Re: Detect Multiple Routers
« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2011, 07:31:19 AM »
The manifest file is located in the same directory as the program. Just delete it and see if it helps.

Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

Offline hrkelley

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Detect Multiple Routers
« Reply #6 on: July 05, 2011, 07:55:07 AM »
how do I separate the directory on a file named detect_routers.exe

I guess I've always just run files that are identified as executables.  I've never attempted to edit them first.

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Re: Detect Multiple Routers
« Reply #7 on: July 05, 2011, 11:02:41 AM »
The manifest file is a separate file. It isn't part of the EXE. When you first download the tool it is a self extracting zip file in the form of an exe. When you run the program it should extract a directory ("Detect Routers") that contains 2 files ("detect_routers.exe" and "detect_routers.exe.manifest"). If you are having trouble having the program extract itself then you can change the extension to ".zip" and extract the files manually. I assumed you had already extracted the files and the program wasn't running correctly. Is this the case?

Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

Offline hrkelley

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Detect Multiple Routers
« Reply #8 on: July 05, 2011, 01:02:21 PM »
the file downloaded as an executable and did not indicate it was a zip file.  My software attempted to execute it but crashed.  I saved the file where I could open it with a zip utility, unzipped and then ran the executable code which now worked.  I think the problem was it was not self-extracting on my PC and my PC did not attempt to extract a file not identified as .zip or .rar

I have it working now.  thanks

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Detect Multiple Routers
« Reply #9 on: July 05, 2011, 07:47:17 PM »
Odd it wasnt extracting. Glad you got it working.

I made the extracting exe with winrar :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Re: Detect Multiple Routers
« Reply #10 on: July 05, 2011, 10:46:48 PM »
I just tried it myself and it worked fine. There wasn't any indication that it worked but I found the directory in the same directory as the original exe. Did you change the extension to *.zip before you used your zip utility or did you just try to extract the exe? What program did you use?

Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

Offline hrkelley

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Detect Multiple Routers
« Reply #11 on: July 06, 2011, 04:29:03 AM »
I just used a freeware program 7-zip.  I opened the 7-zip program, located the downloaded file and then had it un-zip it.
When I double click the original download it attempts to run it but crashes.  I don't think I have rar extraction software on this PC since the hard drive was dumped a few months ago.  That may be the issue.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Detect Multiple Routers
« Reply #12 on: July 06, 2011, 09:48:48 AM »
7-zip is good, I have it as well.

You shouldn't need any rar software. The self extracting exe should work as is. I am at a loss why it would crash on yours. Would you get a crash window?

Only reason I made it a self extracting exe was because a few users kept running the exes from the zips without extracting first. So the exe couldn't use the other files in the zips. So to stop that I made them self extracting.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Detect Multiple Routers
« Reply #12 on: July 06, 2011, 09:48:48 AM »