Author Topic: Port Forwarding an Actiontec PK5000  (Read 40880 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 48and87rock

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2011
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Port Forwarding an Actiontec PK5000
« on: May 30, 2011, 07:42:56 PM »
I'm trying to port forward my Actiontec PK5000 so i can so i can make a minecraft server i've looked all over the internet and finally found this site hopefully someone hear can help. I'm not in anyway a computer nerd so "simple" english would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

PcWinTech.com Forums

Port Forwarding an Actiontec PK5000
« on: May 30, 2011, 07:42:56 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding an Actiontec PK5000
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2011, 08:40:39 PM »
You posted in the simple port forwarding program forum, are you having trouble with the program?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline 48and87rock

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2011
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port Forwarding an Actiontec PK5000
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2011, 04:24:40 PM »
I have been told that the best way to get the server to work is to port forward your ip address or the port that the server runs on (im not exactly sure how it works).

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding an Actiontec PK5000
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2011, 04:26:11 PM »
OK, still didn't answer my question lol

Are you having trouble with the simple port forwarding program? Or do you just need help with port forward? (If so I need to move this topic to the port forwarding thread :wink:)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline 48and87rock

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2011
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port Forwarding an Actiontec PK5000
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2011, 08:20:46 PM »
I need help with port forwarding

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding an Actiontec PK5000
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2011, 06:13:20 AM »
OK then lets get you going.
First this model is support in the simple port forwarding program. The program does update your router for free, so your welcome to try it first. :wink:

What have you tried so far?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline 48and87rock

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2011
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port Forwarding an Actiontec PK5000
« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2011, 07:34:18 PM »
I have followed multiple tutorials on YouTube and on another website they said to go into the "Advanced Port Forwarding" under the advanced setup tab in the modem configuation. What I was told to do was to put the start and end port which for Minecraft is 25565 and then the LAN IP address infact i tried several different IP addresses (the LAN IP address, the IP address for my computer , and the IP address for the computer hooked directly into the modem). In one of the videos they gave a link to a website where I could test to see whether or not the port forward worked and everytime it said the port was closed.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding an Actiontec PK5000
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2011, 08:26:46 PM »
You will put the local IP of your computer in the rule.

Then download and use my port tester to test the ports :wink:
http://www.pcwintech.com/simple-port-tester

Something has to be listening to accept the connection or it will fail every time. My port tester takes care of that for you.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline 48and87rock

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2011
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port Forwarding an Actiontec PK5000
« Reply #8 on: June 05, 2011, 12:03:46 PM »
I used your port tester it still failed

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding an Actiontec PK5000
« Reply #9 on: June 05, 2011, 02:22:01 PM »
Go ahead and post a screen shot of the port forwarding page int he router. This way I can check the rules for you :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline 48and87rock

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2011
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port Forwarding an Actiontec PK5000
« Reply #10 on: June 05, 2011, 05:39:55 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding an Actiontec PK5000
« Reply #11 on: June 05, 2011, 05:43:01 PM »
Hate to do this to you, but could you get me the screen shot again, but this time scroll the page down so I can see the current rules :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline 48and87rock

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2011
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port Forwarding an Actiontec PK5000
« Reply #12 on: June 05, 2011, 09:13:34 PM »
If you don't mind would it be ok if i pm you the new screen shot? i dont really feel comforatable with a picture including my ip address floating around the internet

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding an Actiontec PK5000
« Reply #13 on: June 05, 2011, 11:31:13 PM »
Your local IP isn't accessible on the internet. Only your internet IP is. So your local IP is safe to have on the picture. :wink:

Feel free to pm me the picture if you like.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline 48and87rock

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2011
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port Forwarding an Actiontec PK5000
« Reply #14 on: June 06, 2011, 07:33:19 PM »
Good to know :smiley:


PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Port Forwarding an Actiontec PK5000
« Reply #14 on: June 06, 2011, 07:33:19 PM »

 

email