Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Problem connecting  (Read 11997 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jormungand1342

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2011
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Problem connecting
« on: May 22, 2011, 01:26:10 PM »
Recently my Xbox died and I had to get a new one, when I connected my new xbox to my router i got the cannoct connect screen and troubleshooter, now for some reason I still cannot connect, ive tried resetting the router and modems and setting a static IP. when i set the static  IP i got a message stating that I cannot connect with this ip my router may be blocking my xbox's MAC address, so this is where i'm stuck an im unsure on how to procede. my router is a Linksys WRT310N, any help is greatly welcome.

PcWinTech.com Forums

Problem connecting
« on: May 22, 2011, 01:26:10 PM »

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Re: Problem connecting
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2011, 01:31:08 PM »
What static IP address did you use? Have you looked in the router settings to make sure you don't have access to your router limited and if you do, do you have your Xbox allowed?

Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

Offline Jormungand1342

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2011
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Problem connecting
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2011, 02:14:43 PM »
on my router i looked to see what the IP range was and picked one in that range, as for the limited im pretty sure its all open, it should all be set to the default.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Problem connecting
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2011, 03:08:16 PM »
Here is the easiest way to make things work.

Set your xbox to auto get its IP, turn off the static.
If it is connecting by wireless make sure you dont have your wireless set to only allow certain mac address to connect, that could be the problem.

Also make sure UPnP is on in the router. UPnP is auto port forwarding. With auto IP, auto port forwarding, you should be all set to go :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Re: Problem connecting
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2011, 03:19:43 PM »
I just wanted to make sure that you used an appropriate IP address. I was assuming you've tried everything Shane said since you said it worked before. If you haven't tried those steps yet though, then go ahead and do that and let me know what the result is.

Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

Offline Jormungand1342

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2011
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Problem connecting
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2011, 05:33:55 PM »
On the router gateway online where is the auto-port fowarding usually found? and this is all a wired setup

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Problem connecting
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2011, 06:38:24 PM »
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Jormungand1342

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2011
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Problem connecting
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2011, 08:57:18 PM »
UPnP is enabled and I put my 360 back on auto and still nothing, it's saying cannot obtain IP address from router or modem. ive even reset my router, modem and 360 to see if that would work and nothing. could this be an issue with the hardware on the 360 itself or is it the router?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Problem connecting
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2011, 09:29:13 PM »
If your computers are getting an IP then it isn't the router. While it is possible it could be the xbox, you may also have a bad network cord. Have you tried another network cord just to cover all the bases?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Re: Problem connecting
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2011, 09:49:17 PM »
If you aren't getting any IP address at all (it is staying 0.0.0.0 or blank) then it is most likely a bad Network card on the Xbox itself. I had this happen to a family member's system. You still need to make sure that it isn't the network cable itself or the port on the router. Use a cable that works with a computer on a port of the router that you know works and then you can verify that it is the Network port of the Xbox 360. At that point you are left with getting it fixed via a warranty or using a wireless option instead. If it is still under warranty (by either Microsoft or the store you purchased it at) I would return it after you verify it isn't working.

Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

Offline Jormungand1342

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2011
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Problem connecting
« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2011, 10:12:32 PM »
I took  the same cord and plugged it into my laptop and shut off my wireless and was able to connect. the troubleshooter is saying that it cant find an ip from the router so will that mean a bad card on the 360 still. not a huge deal to get another, i just got this one 4 days ago as a refurbished one so still under the year warranty.

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Re: Problem connecting
« Reply #11 on: May 22, 2011, 10:44:08 PM »
Yeah, best to go ahead and return it. My sister didn't bother letting me look at hers to verify this was the problem till 1 year after her store bought extended warranty expired even though I had been telling her to bring it over for at least 6 months. Sucked for her.

Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

Offline Jormungand1342

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2011
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Problem connecting
« Reply #12 on: May 22, 2011, 10:50:02 PM »
cool thanks a lot for the help saved me at least a little stress, worst part was ive been sick the last few days and no online to keep me ocuppied. and this will be xbox number 7, least i have the warranty so it will be free to get replaced.

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Re: Problem connecting
« Reply #13 on: May 22, 2011, 10:55:42 PM »
7? Damn. I've only replaced mine once and I bought it the day it came out. Make sure you have good electricity at your home and if you can put it on a UPS and make sure it gets good air circulation and avoids humidity. Those are just some general tips since I have no idea what's caused all the problems.  :wink:

Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Problem connecting
« Reply #14 on: May 23, 2011, 08:41:32 AM »
Maybe 7 is your lucky number lol :tongue:

But at least now you know what & how to check for networking problems :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Problem connecting
« Reply #14 on: May 23, 2011, 08:41:32 AM »