Author Topic: 8080 port foward probelm  (Read 20476 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 8080 port foward probelm
« Reply #15 on: April 25, 2011, 07:25:26 AM »
I have a mini van lol

Any DVR company should have a free app to work with their products, I know lorex does. :wink:

You can set your internet IP to static yourself but it will only work for a short while. Once they have it set to change your IP on their end your internet will stop working till you put it back on DHCP. SO keep that in mind.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: 8080 port foward probelm
« Reply #15 on: April 25, 2011, 07:25:26 AM »

Offline maxinho

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: 0
Re: 8080 port foward probelm
« Reply #16 on: April 25, 2011, 10:33:29 AM »
hi shane. i have mad some progress.

i have used the dvr software on my girl friends  laptop at my brother house and yes it connects fine and on port 80  :wink:

so a big thank you for that one.

i also downloaded the dvr app for her i pod touch witch i found out it is free and it works fine too  :cheesy:

now my black using the static ip using wifi works.

if i use other connection 3g or gprs i get "network connect error " so it is something with my network.

it works fine on my brothers ip on wifi and gprs ( different operator)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i did now realize about my internet will cut off. do you know how to over come this? i did use the client via dndnys but it still kept changing. i dont get it reallly.

hope you guys are having and nice time .,.  :cheesy:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 8080 port foward probelm
« Reply #17 on: April 25, 2011, 10:05:07 PM »
Good to hear everything is working :wink:

The dynamic dns works by installing their program on your computer. What it does is monitors the internet IP and when it changes it updates the dns name :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline maxinho

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: 0
Re: 8080 port foward probelm
« Reply #18 on: April 29, 2011, 12:31:57 PM »
hi Shane.

did you are your family have a good holiday? looks like you were kinda right about the static ip address.

it has changed on my internet. but all seems to be working still except my dvr.

i dont get it,because even my dnydns client has changed to but my cell phone will only take a ip address.

is there a way to over come this? my service provider does not give out a static ip address.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 8080 port foward probelm
« Reply #19 on: April 29, 2011, 12:36:18 PM »
So you have the dns account setup. But the phone app will only take the IP. Which makes the dns account pointless.

I guess what you could do if find a ping app for the phone. Have the ping app ping the dns name. There is should show you the IP the dns name has. Then you could put it in the phone app.

Sounds like a pain to do though! That phone app needs to be able to take the dns name to make this much easier on you!

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline maxinho

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: 0
Re: 8080 port foward probelm
« Reply #20 on: April 29, 2011, 01:03:02 PM »
sounds like hard work.


i did just try something and it seems to have worked  :cheesy: how long for i guess you are going to tell me  :tongue:

i have input the dyndns host name in to the ip address of my phone app. and bingo it works.

i also tested it in my address bar on explorer 8 and it also works.

does this mean my client will update  the ip address and still work?

can it up date it if i am away on holiday for a few days? ( i dont understand how it can do this. )

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 8080 port foward probelm
« Reply #21 on: April 29, 2011, 01:04:53 PM »
Sounds like you should be good to go. Your phone app does work with the dns name. As long as you have the dns updater app on the machine, it will update the dns name any time the internet Ip changes. SO you should be set to go :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline maxinho

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: 0
Re: 8080 port foward probelm
« Reply #22 on: April 29, 2011, 01:07:02 PM »
thats great  :cheesy:

even if my pc is off for  few days?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 8080 port foward probelm
« Reply #23 on: April 29, 2011, 01:11:50 PM »
You need to have the software running in order for it to update the dns name, so if your computer is off, then so is the program :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline maxinho

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: 0
Re: 8080 port foward probelm
« Reply #24 on: April 29, 2011, 01:21:36 PM »
they dont make it easy for us do they.  :omg:


would there be any other way of doing this do you think?

if i go away for a week i am sure my ip will change. or does it nt change because my pc is not switched on?  :cheesy:


Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 8080 port foward probelm
« Reply #25 on: April 29, 2011, 01:38:06 PM »
Your internet IP changes no matter what. Some modems or routers have built in support for the dns names. but if yours doesn't then your going to have to leave your computer on (Make sure it doesn't go into standby or sleep mode) and make sure the dns software is running so it can update the dns name for you. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: 8080 port foward probelm
« Reply #25 on: April 29, 2011, 01:38:06 PM »

 

email