Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Access to website (Problem)  (Read 11606 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Willy2

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 277
  • Karma: 7
Access to website (Problem)
« on: March 29, 2011, 11:28:30 AM »
I have a problem accessing one website I used to visit regularly. When I try to visit the Piriform Software forums
(e.g. http://forum.piriform.com/index.php?showforum=4) (or any other webpage on that forum) then I am not allowed any more to gain access. The website responds with the following message:

""forbidden. You don't have permission to access /index.php on this sever. Additionally a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument while handling the request"".

So, it seems the website recognizes me but doesn't allow me to enter that website. I blame the modem/router because when I go to a friend and try to visit that website i am allowed in and then I am automatically recognized as well. Can a modem/router be infected with a virus ? I tried to re-install the router software but I can't find the installation software on the CD/DVD that came with the router modem. Can any of PcWinTech's tools help me to figure out of what's wrong ?

PcWinTech.com Forums

Access to website (Problem)
« on: March 29, 2011, 11:28:30 AM »

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Re: Access to website (Problem)
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2011, 11:51:40 AM »
Have you tried contacting them to see if you IP address has been banned and if so, then why? The 404 means that whatever page was trying to be loaded (the one handling the "forbidden" request) couldn't be found.

This sounds more like an issue from their end so I would start there. You could check to see if your modem is the problem by trying a different one, but I'd check with Piriform first if you aren't having any other problems.

You might also try flushing your DNS cache by bringing up a command prompt and typing "ipconfig /flushdns"

Let me know if you make any progress.

Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Access to website (Problem)
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2011, 01:28:52 PM »
Bad cookie :-)

Cookies store your login info and your session info. Clear your cookies out and relog into the site, you should start working then :wink:

Had the same problem on this forum a while back :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Re: Access to website (Problem)
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2011, 01:56:28 PM »
Hmm...I don't save any information like that so my mind didn't even go there.  :cheesy:

So yeah, try that.


Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

Offline hangdawg

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: 0
Re: Access to website (Problem)
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2011, 05:28:48 PM »
  hi shane and evan   ccleaner  cleans   real good  plus good idea to set  your browser not to accept third party cookies  helps prevent malware   :wink:  but the reason i came on is  piriform  makes  recuva also  i tried earler  today playing around with the portable version just to see what it would find  but the memory went real high   spotted  with clean mem  :cheesy:  but task manger only said it was using  67,636   firefox doesnt jump memory use past 22 or 24 with 5 or 6 tabs kinda strange could it be something hidden in recuva but not showing in task manger ?  thanks

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Access to website (Problem)
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2011, 05:32:29 PM »
Not sure, but this is kinda off topic :-)

Some processes can have dll's and ocx files that take a large amount of memory that doesn't show in the task manager. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline hangdawg

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: 0
Re: Access to website (Problem)
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2011, 06:19:27 PM »
  yeah  i figured it was kinda piriform  related   just thought it was strange doing that because  everything else in task manager seem well within its limits and even recuvaa wasnt very high either  kinda like disappearing 
 memory  :confused: thought  it might be a 64 bit thing

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Re: Access to website (Problem)
« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2011, 06:45:29 PM »
So is your browser working as expected and if so do you know what fixed it exactly?

Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

Offline hangdawg

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: 0
Re: Access to website (Problem)
« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2011, 07:19:59 PM »
 sorry shane should i start a new thread  :confused:    it was just wierd   clean mem usually cleans everything but  anti-virus software but i posted on there forum

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Access to website (Problem)
« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2011, 07:19:59 PM »