Author Topic: How to change MTU setting on ZyXel-P-2602HWT-F3 modem slash router?  (Read 36279 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bersaas

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Hi, I've recently changed my modem and router to ZyXel-P-2602HWT-F3.  But now a days, I can't sign in to my xbox live account!

It says;  Your network doesn`t have a sufficient MTU setting. Xbox live requires a minimum MTU setting of 1364.

On your pc, go to your router configuration webpage and set the MTU to auto, or 1364 or higher. If that doesn`t work, disconnect your console from the router and connect directly to the modem.

Atm, I am logged in at my router, on my computer, but I can't find out were to change the MTU on ZyXel! Help me.
I should access WAN it says, but inside that topic, there is no information about MTU :sad:

PcWinTech.com Forums


Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: How to change MTU setting on ZyXel-P-2602HWT-F3 modem slash router?
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2011, 10:45:01 AM »
Odd thing is, the default MTU of every router is 1500.
And on DSL it is normally 1436 or higher by ISP's. Normally any lower and the connection gets shot.

I found a couple of things you can try to change.

http://www.speedguide.net/faq_in_q.php?qid=204

http://www2.zyxel.com/support/knowledgebase/kb_detail_10562.shtml

http://www.zyxel.co.uk/web/support_faq_detail.php?faqID=174&pid=20040908175941

Let me know how it goes :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Re: How to change MTU setting on ZyXel-P-2602HWT-F3 modem slash router?
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2011, 11:13:42 AM »
Just something to keep in mind for future purchases. Always look for networking hardware that says it is designed to work with Windows Vista or Windows 7 as the networking requirements are actually slightly less strict for Xbox Live.

That is advice I heard from the engineer who runs Xbox Live.  :smiley:

Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

Offline Bersaas

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: How to change MTU setting on ZyXel-P-2602HWT-F3 modem slash router?
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2011, 02:15:37 AM »
Thanks for your advice! But I still have problems with ZyXel connecting to Xbox live. I'll soon hire a professional!

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: How to change MTU setting on ZyXel-P-2602HWT-F3 modem slash router?
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2011, 08:37:59 AM »
Before you go hire someone, try calling your ISP and see if they can check the MTU size for you :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: How to change MTU setting on ZyXel-P-2602HWT-F3 modem slash router?
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2011, 08:37:59 AM »