Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: memory cards  (Read 12660 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline peereli

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 1
memory cards
« on: January 27, 2011, 08:31:08 AM »
Hi

I have installed additional two SDRAM 256 MB cards to the one I already have in my old machine Pentium 4.
It seems to be working OK but I`ll be glad to get a second opinion ,please see the attached logs .
Thanks

[attachments over 25 days old deleted by admin]
OS :MS windows XP pro sp3
Processor :AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual core 3800, 2009Mhz.
Mother board :Gygabyte M61 PM-S2
Ram :3GB
Disk space :149.05 GB
Default browser:Pale Moon
Protection :Avast,Sandboxie,Private firewall

PcWinTech.com Forums

memory cards
« on: January 27, 2011, 08:31:08 AM »

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Re: memory cards
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2011, 11:36:37 AM »
Everything looks fine. What program are you using to report that?  Also, what does Windows report?

Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: memory cards
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2011, 01:24:46 PM »
In windows, right click on my computer and go to properties.
On this window it will say how much ram is installed.

If all the chips are being reported (From what I can tell you have 3 256mb chips)
Then Windows should report 768 MB (Or a few MB less if you have onboard video)

If it does then it looks like your good to go :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline peereli

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 1
Re: memory cards
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2011, 02:19:24 PM »
Everything looks fine. What program are you using to report that?  Also, what does Windows report?

Evan
Thank you for your reply. I`m using Speccy by Piriform. Windows reports : 768 MB, 1.69 GHZ
OS :MS windows XP pro sp3
Processor :AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual core 3800, 2009Mhz.
Mother board :Gygabyte M61 PM-S2
Ram :3GB
Disk space :149.05 GB
Default browser:Pale Moon
Protection :Avast,Sandboxie,Private firewall

Offline peereli

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 1
Re: memory cards
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2011, 02:30:23 PM »
In windows, right click on my computer and go to properties.
On this window it will say how much ram is installed.

If all the chips are being reported (From what I can tell you have 3 256mb chips)
Then Windows should report 768 MB (Or a few MB less if you have onboard video)

If it does then it looks like your good to go :wink:

Shane
Thanks for your reply, Windows reports :768MB, 1.69 GHZ
I was aware of windows acknowledging the cards insert, I`m more concerned about the clocks differences in jedec #1 and #2  in the three slots , or is it something I shouldn't be concerned about?
« Last Edit: January 27, 2011, 02:32:41 PM by peereli »
OS :MS windows XP pro sp3
Processor :AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual core 3800, 2009Mhz.
Mother board :Gygabyte M61 PM-S2
Ram :3GB
Disk space :149.05 GB
Default browser:Pale Moon
Protection :Avast,Sandboxie,Private firewall

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: memory cards
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2011, 02:33:36 PM »
The bios normally takes the clock of slot 1 and applies it to all of them. But every motherboard is different.

The only thing you need to worry about is getting errors in memory. So just run a memory test, and if all passes then your all set  :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline peereli

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 1
Re: memory cards
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2011, 03:22:46 PM »
The bios normally takes the clock of slot 1 and applies it to all of them. But every motherboard is different.

The only thing you need to worry about is getting errors in memory. So just run a memory test, and if all passes then your all set  :wink:

Shane
Thanks Shane.
OS :MS windows XP pro sp3
Processor :AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual core 3800, 2009Mhz.
Mother board :Gygabyte M61 PM-S2
Ram :3GB
Disk space :149.05 GB
Default browser:Pale Moon
Protection :Avast,Sandboxie,Private firewall

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Re: memory cards
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2011, 09:07:12 PM »
Different clock speeds make virtually no real world difference and whatever your lowest clock speed is the others will fall back to match it. If you are overlocking then things are obviously different. I'm just letting you know what you should you expect.

Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

Offline peereli

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 1
Re: memory cards
« Reply #8 on: January 27, 2011, 10:00:48 PM »
Different clock speeds make virtually no real world difference and whatever your lowest clock speed is the others will fall back to match it. If you are overlocking then things are obviously different. I'm just letting you know what you should you expect.

Evan
Thanks for the info Evan.
OS :MS windows XP pro sp3
Processor :AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual core 3800, 2009Mhz.
Mother board :Gygabyte M61 PM-S2
Ram :3GB
Disk space :149.05 GB
Default browser:Pale Moon
Protection :Avast,Sandboxie,Private firewall

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: memory cards
« Reply #8 on: January 27, 2011, 10:00:48 PM »