Author Topic: help please.  (Read 12857 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline denseth

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
help please.
« on: January 12, 2011, 05:02:54 PM »
hi im using a thomson tg782.

but someone steal my password. i got the password and administrator managment and all that.

and slowing my internet connection is there a way to kick him and ban his ip. please help me shane.

how to kick someone is really complicated my menu maybe u know.

PcWinTech.com Forums

help please.
« on: January 12, 2011, 05:02:54 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: help please.
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2011, 06:27:16 PM »
Are they connected to you by wireless?

They can just hope on your network. They would have to be plugged in with a network cable or by wireless.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline denseth

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
Re: help please.
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2011, 07:40:20 PM »
yea with wireless.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: help please.
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2011, 07:42:36 PM »
Just change the wireless password.  :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline denseth

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
Re: help please.
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2011, 07:45:00 PM »
thanks. but i cant block his ip?

he got a hacking program which keep stealing my pass

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: help please.
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2011, 07:47:32 PM »
I see :wink:

Your router should allow you to set who is allowed access by their mac address.

Take a screen shot of the wireless security options and post them. (You can post them at the bottom of the page when posting)

Then I can tell you what you need to set :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline denseth

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
Re: help please.
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2011, 08:01:23 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: help please.
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2011, 08:06:57 PM »
On that page click on WLAN: DMAX

Does that take you to the settings page for the wireless?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline denseth

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
Re: help please.
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2011, 08:20:29 PM »
Dude is a lame configuration look. doesnt say anything important




Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: help please.
« Reply #9 on: January 12, 2011, 08:25:43 PM »
What options does the "Allow New Devices" give you?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline denseth

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
Re: help please.
« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2011, 11:42:33 PM »
-new station are not allowed-
-new station are allowed (via registration)-
-new station are allowed (Automatically)-


that what should i do?

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Re: help please.
« Reply #11 on: January 13, 2011, 12:07:18 AM »
You should choose change your password and have all the devices you want to use (looks like 2) and immediately choose the "new station are not allowed" option.   :smiley:

As long as you choose that option after your devices are on and before they crack the password then they won't be able to get on.   :wink:

Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

Offline denseth

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
Re: help please.
« Reply #12 on: January 13, 2011, 12:12:27 AM »
yea mate . but i need to register my pc on her e because if i put that it block my pc too and i have to reset router again. youknow...

i wonder how to register my pc...


Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Re: help please.
« Reply #13 on: January 13, 2011, 12:24:50 AM »
That is why I was saying you choose that option after you change the password and connect with your PC.  Logic says that the option will only prevent new devices so your PC that is already connected won't be an issue. 

If that doesn't work then I suggest you use the highest encryption you can.  What you want is WPA2 (also known as WPA2-PSK).  WEP isn't secure at all and can be easily cracked. Unless your computer and other device can't use WPA2 then there is no reason to not use it.   :smiley:

In reality you should only use WPA2 and if you have any devices that can't use it then you should upgrade them so this isn't an issue. I know that isn't always practical so I'm trying to give advice that you can work with right now.   :wink:

Let me know if you can use WPA2 and choose AES if available.

Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Re: help please.
« Reply #14 on: January 13, 2011, 12:27:15 AM »
Refer to page 25 of the manual that Shane posted. http://www.solomon.co.th/ccnupload/file/175253TG782_SetupUserGuide_en.pdf

Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: help please.
« Reply #14 on: January 13, 2011, 12:27:15 AM »