Author Topic: Problem with Belkin F5D8236-4 v2 - can't get NAT 2 on PS3  (Read 56668 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Problem with Belkin F5D8236-4 v2 - can't get NAT 2 on PS3
« Reply #30 on: November 13, 2010, 06:28:41 PM »
Sorry I had the stomach flu!
But I am on now if you need me. 6:30 pm for me. I am on the west coast :-)

I am busy setting up my new office tonight so my system is right by me. I will be on if you need me  :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Problem with Belkin F5D8236-4 v2 - can't get NAT 2 on PS3
« Reply #30 on: November 13, 2010, 06:28:41 PM »

Offline Adam_LFC

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2010
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
Re: Problem with Belkin F5D8236-4 v2 - can't get NAT 2 on PS3
« Reply #31 on: November 16, 2010, 03:07:52 PM »
Hey Shane, just thought i'd give you an update on the nat situation. It's almost fixed now and I just have a couple of minor problems.

A friend came over yesterday to try and fix it and some good progress was made. He bridged the modem and then changed the connection type on the belkin so it was PPPoe. Then I started up the PS3 and did the settings again and did a connection test and got nat 2. However later in the night when I started it up again I did another connection test and got nat 3. I re-did the PS3 settings again and didn't change anything and then got nat 2. Now when I turn on the PS3 and do a connection test it does one of these

-It either gives me nat 3, and then I redo the connection settings and I get nat2
Sometimes it gives me a nat 2 with no problems and other times it gives me nat 2 but has a note at the bottom saying some ip fragments are missing and this can affect the connectiona nd chat in some games and I need to contact the router manufacturer. When It gives me a nat 3 connection for some reason is says UPnP is unavailable when it is enabled on the PS3 and the belkin.

When I do the connection the connection settings on the PS3 I just do automatic for the type of connection. But should I choose to do PPPoe on the PS3 now that the belkin is set up for that?

So I think i'm very close to getting all this fixed once and for good, but the nat 3 curse just keeps on lingering. The PS3 starts up and gives me nat 3, but then I just redo the connection settings and most of the time it gives me nat 2 then, so i'd just like to be at the point where I no longer have to tinker with anything and I can just fire it up without worrying about the connection and the settings.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Problem with Belkin F5D8236-4 v2 - can't get NAT 2 on PS3
« Reply #32 on: November 16, 2010, 03:13:06 PM »
You and your friend did the right thing  :wink:
Setting the modem into bridge mode. DMZ must have not been working.

I don't normally have users do bridge mode for one reason. It could cause their internet to go down if not done right. So to play it save I do the DMZ trick. Which almost always works. In this case sounds like the DMZ wasn't working right in the modem.

Now from what you are telling me, it sounds like the PS3 is having problems with UPnP.
So I say turn it off in the belkin. Once off save and reboot it.

So instead you will do the port forwarding rules again. See how those go. And if all else fails use DMZ in the belkin to the PS3.

UPnP is automatic and will remove the rules when not in use. Since that seems to be a problem then having the rules never removed is the way to go. Thus port forwarding.

You can set your PS3 IP to static so it doesn't change on you . And of course make sure the port forwarding rules or the dmz is pointing to the PS3's IP and not your computers  :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Adam_LFC

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2010
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
Re: Problem with Belkin F5D8236-4 v2 - can't get NAT 2 on PS3
« Reply #33 on: November 16, 2010, 03:40:50 PM »
Alright i'll give that a try when I get home. Will it help to put the PS3 set up for PPPoe as well or should I just leave it as it is?

I looked online about the error message I was getting with the ip fragments, and people seem to think thats a problem with the MTU setting. Will I need to configure the belkin and the PS3 a certain way to fix that?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Problem with Belkin F5D8236-4 v2 - can't get NAT 2 on PS3
« Reply #34 on: November 16, 2010, 04:09:04 PM »
No need to change the connection to pppoe in the PS3.

If it is a MTU problem you can change the MTU from the default 1500 to 1492 for dsl or even 1436 and see if it helps.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Adam_LFC

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2010
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
Re: Problem with Belkin F5D8236-4 v2 - can't get NAT 2 on PS3
« Reply #35 on: November 16, 2010, 04:14:20 PM »
Ah I see. Thanks. I'm pretty sure on the belkin it was set to 1454 (maybe 1464) and on the PS3 the default is 1500.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Problem with Belkin F5D8236-4 v2 - can't get NAT 2 on PS3
« Reply #36 on: November 16, 2010, 04:16:04 PM »
Let me know how it all turns out :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Adam_LFC

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2010
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
Re: Problem with Belkin F5D8236-4 v2 - can't get NAT 2 on PS3
« Reply #37 on: November 17, 2010, 03:40:36 AM »
It seems my connection has a mind of its own. I tried the ports again and the dmz but still got nat 3. Then I  lowered the MTU to 1436 and had UPnP enabled on the router and the PS3 and got Nat 2. Then I reset the PS3 and still got nat 2 and I thought it was all sorted once and for all. Now a few hours later I turn it on and it comes up with Nat 3. I'll just have to keep tinkering with it tomorrow and i'll let you know how it goes.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2010, 03:58:41 AM by Adam_LFC »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Problem with Belkin F5D8236-4 v2 - can't get NAT 2 on PS3
« Reply #38 on: November 17, 2010, 07:46:40 AM »
What a very unstable connection. Question is, is it the PS3 or the belkin?

Let me know what you tinkering turns out  :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Adam_LFC

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2010
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
Re: Problem with Belkin F5D8236-4 v2 - can't get NAT 2 on PS3
« Reply #39 on: November 17, 2010, 01:51:09 PM »
Shane I think it's all finally sorted! I was trying out different settings and each time would either get nat 2 and it'd change later, or nat 2 with the ip fragments error message, or nat 3 if it said UPnP was unavailable. So for the hell of it just to try something different in the ip address setting on the PS3 I put in the PPPoe username and password then bang, Nat1! It looks like it's here to stay as well as i've turned my PS3 off and turned it back on and it was still Nat 1. And I just turned it back on this morning after several hours of being off to check again and it's still Nat 1. So I think the Nat 3 curse has finally been lifted.

Thank-you so much for your help and guidance throughout this process Shane. Your knowledge, and care and concern for others is amazing! It's funny, a week and a half ago I knew absolutely nothing about routers, modems and PS3 connections, now i'm going over to a friends place next week when exams are done to see if I can fix his connection.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Problem with Belkin F5D8236-4 v2 - can't get NAT 2 on PS3
« Reply #40 on: November 17, 2010, 01:56:54 PM »
Good to hear your all set. I don't own a PS3 so not sure why the pppoe made a difference. But as long as it is working for you then I say keep it that way lol.

Since your all set I will lock this thread. :wink:

And as always...
If your happy with my work. Then all I ask in return is you simply let others know about my site and programs. I do a lot more than port forwarding :-)
Also always feel free to make a post in the feedback forum.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Problem with Belkin F5D8236-4 v2 - can't get NAT 2 on PS3
« Reply #40 on: November 17, 2010, 01:56:54 PM »