Author Topic: Public IP issue  (Read 58478 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Public IP issue
« Reply #15 on: October 18, 2010, 12:51:49 PM »
Let me know how it turns out.

The goal that your looking for when you ask them is this.

To be able to put 2 ips in. One will be your local and the other will be your internet.
When it tries to connect to one and it fails it tries the other.

By doing this reverse nat wont be problem any more  :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Public IP issue
« Reply #15 on: October 18, 2010, 12:51:49 PM »

Offline Sylvmeister

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 32
  • Location: Finland
  • Karma: 1
  • Undercover
Re: Public IP issue
« Reply #16 on: October 18, 2010, 01:01:10 PM »
Okay ! I'm going to tell them that. But my expectations are minimal as I believe there must be at least 20 people with exactly the same problem before they even bother themselves with considering it ;) But it's worth a try however.

Oh by the way I got a crazy idea. Don't know if this will work but my logic tells me that it just might if done right.
Well I wondered if I could use my old router to receive the signal, pass it on to new router so that my new router would only be functioning as an access point sort of. Only reason for router change was the fact that my old one didn't support wireless connection. Now as we have 5 PC-s, we need wireless signal in our house.

So basically if I could use both routers.. Old one to receive network signal from cables and assign IP-s etc.. then connect to my new router which would then send out wireless signal !

Do you think that's possible ? :P

Sylv.
Do I look smarter now ? :)

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Public IP issue
« Reply #17 on: October 18, 2010, 01:03:07 PM »
It would IF it has a wan port on the back. A normal router has a WAN port for the internet connection to plug into. But since it is dsl it gets its internet ip from the phone line.

Does it have a WAN port on the back?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Sylvmeister

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 32
  • Location: Finland
  • Karma: 1
  • Undercover
Re: Public IP issue
« Reply #18 on: October 18, 2010, 01:09:57 PM »
Nope, just power, 4 lan ports, 1 dsl (phone line) and one strange console port or smth.
But could there be some converter cable or something like that. Like from LAN to DSL ?
Do I look smarter now ? :)

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Public IP issue
« Reply #19 on: October 18, 2010, 01:12:22 PM »
Nope, not the way it works. If you wanted that linksys was $45, and thats all you would need to spend to get you working.

Let me do some research and see if the D-Link offers some sort of setting to support revese nat, cant hurt to look. I will msg back soon

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Public IP issue
« Reply #20 on: October 18, 2010, 01:22:06 PM »
I want to take a look at some of the firewall settings. If you dont mind, given how much you have done already I would like to take a look.

Email me and we will get on msn or yahoo chat. :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Public IP issue
« Reply #21 on: October 18, 2010, 02:07:28 PM »
Ok so here is what i did so far.

Once I logged in I verified that reverse nat didnt work.

Well the settings need to have the internet IP for the clients.
So the trick i tried was using his dynamic dns name I changed his host file to point the name to his local IP.

So now he connects. He will test by having a friend connect as well and will see how it goes :-)

What I am aiming for is having the normal clients connect to the internet Ip while forcing his client to connect to the local :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Sylvmeister

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 32
  • Location: Finland
  • Karma: 1
  • Undercover
Re: Public IP issue
« Reply #22 on: October 19, 2010, 09:19:30 AM »
...and they lived happily ever after! :smiley: :smiley: :smiley:

I'm glad to announce that after several headaches and giveups,
thanks to Shane and this forum, my problem is finally solved. Although it seemed impossible. Tests resulted in successful connection to my server from everywhere. I also configured the redirection in my brother's PC using Shane's method. (So my bro gets redirected to my LAN whenever using dynamic nameserver, since we have same public IP)
 
Quality of support here is simply amazing. There aren't many guys out there who would voluntarily provide so detailed and time consuming assistance for free!

Thousand thanks for not giving up, Shane.

Sylv
Do I look smarter now ? :)

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Public IP issue
« Reply #23 on: October 19, 2010, 10:32:06 AM »
Glad to hear your all set :-)

I run my site like I do my computer business. By word of mouth. I enjoy what I do and I enjoy helping people. So I let my work speak for itself. :artist:

Since your all fixed I will lock this thread.  :wink:

And as always...
If your happy with my work. Then all I ask in return is you simply let others know about my site and programs. I do a lot more than port forwarding :-)
Also always feel free to make a post in the feedback forum.


Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Public IP issue
« Reply #23 on: October 19, 2010, 10:32:06 AM »