Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Partial page captue  (Read 25298 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jaded

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Partial page captue
« on: September 14, 2010, 02:16:23 PM »
I am trying to do a web page capture (using Firefox and Win 7) and I am getting only about 1/4 of the whole page.  Other pages I have captured are working (although this is the longest one).  Any suggestions?

PcWinTech.com Forums

Partial page captue
« on: September 14, 2010, 02:16:23 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Partial page captue
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2010, 02:34:47 PM »
Another user had the same problem. The reason why was this
http://forums.pcwintech.com/index.php/topic,1347.0.html

IE isnt reading the proper page length. Are you doing the same thing as this other user?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Jaded

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Partial page captue
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2010, 02:41:34 PM »
I'm using Firefox and i don't understand what the solution was in that thread. 

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Partial page captue
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2010, 02:45:29 PM »
My program uses IE. But thats OK.
The problem for him was the site he was trying to capture was being forwarded from another url.

So he was putting in say www.example.com but when the page loads it was loading another site www.example123.com

For him to get it to work right he just had to put in www.example123.com instead. Bypassing the url forwarding.

If you like I can check the url you are capturing and see if it is the same problem.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Jaded

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Partial page captue
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2010, 02:48:17 PM »
My program uses IE. But thats OK.
The problem for him was the site he was trying to capture was being forwarded from another url.

So he was putting in say www.example.com but when the page loads it was loading another site www.example123.com

For him to get it to work right he just had to put in www.example123.com instead. Bypassing the url forwarding.

If you like I can check the url you are capturing and see if it is the same problem.

Shane

I don't think that is the problem.  I forgot to mention that if I start the software at the point where the last capture stopped it will capture some more of the page.  It took 4 successive captures to eventually get the whole page.  If you would take a look that would be great.  THX

Offline Jaded

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Partial page captue
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2010, 02:50:55 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Partial page captue
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2010, 02:51:30 PM »
np, I will take a look in a bit, need to finish up this customers computer and then I will get to it :-)

shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Partial page captue
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2010, 07:57:39 PM »
Getting a page not found error. Is this the right link?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Jaded

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Partial page captue
« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2010, 10:28:50 AM »
Try getting to it this way.  Either do a search for "Gutenberg project" or follow his link:
http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page

Then click "advanced search"  under "E-text" type 13510.
Once you have the listing click on HTML.  It should take directly to the page. :smiley:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Partial page captue
« Reply #9 on: September 15, 2010, 10:45:36 AM »
Wow that's a big page lol.
From what I can tell it is grabbing a large portion of it but not all of it. Is that what is happening to you?

I will do some testing and see if I can fig out why it isnt getting it all :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Jaded

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Partial page captue
« Reply #10 on: September 15, 2010, 11:03:21 AM »
Yes that's it. lol

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Partial page captue
« Reply #11 on: September 15, 2010, 11:07:04 AM »
I think on how big it is that it is hitting a limit in my code. So I am going through my code now and redoing some of it to handle such a big page and see how it does.
I will post back soon when it is fixed :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Partial page captue
« Reply #12 on: September 15, 2010, 11:15:41 AM »
Well I found the problem. The control I use, a picture box has a max height of 16,383 pixels.
Thats why the captures are the size, it cant go any bigger.
Since this is a limitation of the control I am not sure how I can fix this one. I will dig in and see if I can find a way to make it work :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Partial page captue
« Reply #13 on: September 15, 2010, 11:30:09 AM »
Did some research. I wrote the program in Visual Basic 6 (Rather dang old now, but I am so good at it I cant seem to let it go)
VB6 has a max 16,000 pixels limit on the picture. But in Visual Studio 2010 that I have been working with the max for a picture box is 65535 pixels.

Looks like the only way I will get this to work is to upgrade the program from VB6 to Vb.net 2010.

Not sure if I have the time for it yet, but I have been planning on moving every one of my programs to .net. So looks like this will be the first. Just writing another game for the iphone and such so a little slammed. But I will see what I can do later on. But the bad part is it wont be a quick update. I have to change a ton of code. And a lot of my code from VB6 wont carry over to .net so I will have to re write a lot of it. But that's not a problem for me  :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Jaded

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Partial page captue
« Reply #14 on: September 15, 2010, 12:54:57 PM »
Thank you, I appreciate the effort as I'm sure sure many others do as well! :cheesy:

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Partial page captue
« Reply #14 on: September 15, 2010, 12:54:57 PM »