Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Long Page Capture Not Working  (Read 14900 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline buzz511

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 4
  • Location: Bedford UK
  • Karma: 0
Long Page Capture Not Working
« on: July 06, 2010, 09:58:41 AM »
Simple Web Page Capture...
Unfortunately I can't get the software to capture a long web page.
Just captures the visible portion.
I understand about adjusting the width first.
Should the browser window scroll while it is capturing ? It doesn't do that.
Win XP (SP2) on my laptop
Win7 on my desktop
Same result on both
Thanks

PcWinTech.com Forums

Long Page Capture Not Working
« on: July 06, 2010, 09:58:41 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Long Page Capture Not Working
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2010, 10:50:45 AM »
The program is suppose to scroll the page and grab it all. Have you tried other sites?
What is the website your trying to capture and I will test and see if I get the same problem :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline buzz511

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 4
  • Location: Bedford UK
  • Karma: 0
Re: Long Page Capture Not Working
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2010, 11:03:59 PM »
I tried it on my own web page first, which is where the capture did not work
***LINK REMOVED****
However I have since found that other pages are OK, incl Win7
eg   ***LINK REMOVED****

Does it depend how the page is constructed ?

Buzz
« Last Edit: July 08, 2010, 09:05:11 AM by Shane, Reason: Link removed by user request »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Long Page Capture Not Working
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2010, 07:49:01 AM »
Its not working for me either. The program uses IE, and IE reports how long the page is. For some reason this isnt happening. IE must be having trouble.
So I am going to use your page as a test and come up with a fix for you today :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Long Page Capture Not Working
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2010, 08:27:26 AM »
Ok I found the problem. And it is with the way IE is reading your page. But I found something odd with the page which might explain the problem.

I loaded the page in my router screen capture program show I could see if it worked, it couldn't get the page length either, and it showed 2 frames on the page.

000_(309)_unviewable ***LINK REMOVED****- unviewable - 1
000_(774)_Main ***LINK REMOVED**** - Main - 1

So there is a frame called main and another one called unviewable.
When I try to see if ***LINK REMOVED**** is there it says not found.

So I think if the unviewable frame was removed then then IE should be able to read the length properly :-)

Edit:
I just noticed the 000_(774)_***LINK REMOVED**** - Main - 1
When I put in ***LINK REMOVED**** and have it capture the page, it works just fine!!  :wink:

Shane
« Last Edit: July 08, 2010, 09:05:44 AM by Shane, Reason: Link removed by user request »
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline buzz511

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 4
  • Location: Bedford UK
  • Karma: 0
Re: Long Page Capture Not Working
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2010, 08:49:14 AM »
Thanks, Shane.
Yes, I had over-looked that.   :shy:
Any traffic to my own domain is actually forwarded to the waitrose url where my Home Page is hosted.
So I guess this upset the software !!
I sometimes use my own domain url to test internet utilities, etc., so perhaps I should not do that anymore.

This topic is very specific to my own usage and may discourage other users. Are you able to delete it now ??

Thanks

Buzz

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Long Page Capture Not Working
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2010, 08:52:08 AM »
I can edit out your links if you like :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline buzz511

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 4
  • Location: Bedford UK
  • Karma: 0
Re: Long Page Capture Not Working
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2010, 08:58:25 AM »
.....yes please !!

Thanks

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Long Page Capture Not Working
« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2010, 09:06:21 AM »
All done :-)
Since your all set I will lock this thread.

Take care!  :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Long Page Capture Not Working
« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2010, 09:06:21 AM »