Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Bandwidth Quota permanent reset  (Read 23234 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline misterm

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
Bandwidth Quota permanent reset
« on: July 01, 2010, 11:39:24 PM »
The same theme has been discussed before, but the error is still in version 2.2.4.
I have reinstalled everything, but I have still the problem.

I use the program in Germany. (time format?, date format?)

Sorry for my english... :)

THX


[attachments over 25 days old deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: July 03, 2010, 02:25:03 PM by misterm »

PcWinTech.com Forums

Bandwidth Quota permanent reset
« on: July 01, 2010, 11:39:24 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Bandwith Quota permanent reset
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2010, 08:03:11 AM »
I think the program is getting it confused with the time format. I made the program on my computer, which is sent to English and USA for time and date format.

I think the problem comes down to me having it store the time and date as 1 string instead of breaking the date apart. I bet if I do that instead this will fix the problem. You willing to test that for me once I make an update?  :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline misterm

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
Re: Bandwidth Quota permanent reset
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2010, 05:28:13 AM »
Hallo Shane,

how far is the update. could not wait longer... :cheesy:

thx

marco

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Bandwidth Quota permanent reset
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2010, 12:23:56 PM »
Holy crap I forgot  :confused:

I got started on my first game for the iPad which I am releasing next week. So I totally spaced it lol

As soon as I finish up this current project I will get started. I have a sticky pad on my monitor to remind me :-)

I will even try and see how big of a job it will be and see if I can do the update this weekend, can't promise though.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Bandwidth Quota permanent reset
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2010, 09:50:41 AM »
I leave on the 9th for a week to go to my sisters wedding.
So I want to get this done before then.

But I do have a problem and need to find the best way to handle it.

Right now the date is stored in 1 column in the database. In order to read the date properly I need to break the date apart and store it in 3 columns instead.
The problem is when I make this change the old database will no longer work right, so old logs wont be of any use for the dates.

For you this should be fine since the date isnt working right anyways. But the problem is what about the other users who it does work for? all the old logs will have to be cleared and start fresh.

At least this will be a one time thing. Not sure whats the best way to handle it.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Bandwidth Quota permanent reset
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2010, 10:05:26 AM »
I think I may have an idea that would fix the problem and without having to change the database.

In the program I have the date and time saving as

sCurrentDate = Format(Date, sDateFormat)
sCurrentHour = Format(Time, "h")

Which the word "Date" and "Time" both pull the date and time as a whole from the system. Which means it also pulls in the format of the user's system.

This is where it is messing up, when it loads the date from the database it is reading in the default format from the US. So its getting the day and months backwards on you.

I think that the trick will be is to have it store the date and time in the same default format instead of the users system.

Then when it is pulled from the database it can be formatted to the users system properly.
Only thing is I will need some testing done.
I can get a test exe made today if your up to help me test :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Bandwidth Quota permanent reset
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2010, 12:43:15 PM »
OK well I changed my xp system to a german time format and I think I got it all fixed.
New versions is out :-)

Make sure that you go to reports, then options. And set the right date format you want to use.

I ended up not having to change the database.
It turned out I had the date saving to the database with the format set in the report options instead of by the system default format. After changing that things seem to start working much better :-)


Let me know how it goes.

Shane
« Last Edit: August 02, 2010, 12:45:33 PM by Shane »
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline misterm

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
Re: Bandwidth Quota permanent reset
« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2010, 10:33:02 PM »
Hi Shane,

when I look at reports everything is OK, but the "bandwidth quota monitor" reset the traffic back again and again.

Do you understand what I mean?


The two monitor screenshots have been made immediately after the other.


Marco  :confused:

[attachments over 25 days old deleted by admin]

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Bandwidth Quota permanent reset
« Reply #8 on: August 02, 2010, 10:34:31 PM »
What does the auto reset screen show for the last and next reset time?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline misterm

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
Re: Bandwidth Quota permanent reset
« Reply #9 on: August 02, 2010, 10:37:39 PM »
 :smiley:

[attachments over 25 days old deleted by admin]

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Bandwidth Quota permanent reset
« Reply #10 on: August 02, 2010, 10:41:21 PM »
Odd, I have the auto reset and the new version set and its working fine.
Did you set the date format option in the report options?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline misterm

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
Re: Bandwidth Quota permanent reset
« Reply #11 on: August 02, 2010, 10:43:39 PM »
have it set so

[attachments over 25 days old deleted by admin]

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Bandwidth Quota permanent reset
« Reply #12 on: August 02, 2010, 10:44:33 PM »
How often is the quota resetting?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline misterm

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
Re: Bandwidth Quota permanent reset
« Reply #13 on: August 02, 2010, 10:53:04 PM »
uneven

Offline misterm

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
Re: Bandwidth Quota permanent reset
« Reply #14 on: August 02, 2010, 10:59:27 PM »
I tested with a stopwatch
approximately one minute to the next reset


I think it is exactly 1 minute
« Last Edit: August 02, 2010, 11:01:21 PM by misterm »

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Bandwidth Quota permanent reset
« Reply #14 on: August 02, 2010, 10:59:27 PM »

 

email