Author Topic: "...cannot be reached"  (Read 13394 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

orlos2

  • Guest
"...cannot be reached"
« on: May 07, 2010, 06:27:27 AM »
Hello,
I see on this forum that lot of users have problems with this message and you are giving them link to page with list of issues and how to fix it. My problem is that this page is not helping me much (or I'm doing something wrong, I dunno :/). I'm using D-link DI-524 with v.2 of software and I want to open port 6669 but wen I test it the message apeears and says  "This port is closed and cannot be reached" or something like that. Please help :(
I made a server in one game and I can join to it, but others see message "This server is propably down" although it's not.
And sorry for my english, if I made mistakes.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2010, 06:30:13 AM by orlos2 »

PcWinTech.com Forums

"...cannot be reached"
« on: May 07, 2010, 06:27:27 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: "...cannot be reached"
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2010, 09:43:12 AM »
First thing to check, find the WAN/Internet IP in the router.
Does it match the IP on the port tester page ?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

orlos2

  • Guest
Re: "...cannot be reached"
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2010, 10:45:38 AM »
Yes, it matches.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: "...cannot be reached"
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2010, 10:50:56 AM »
ok good :-)

I am not sure if you used my simple port forwarding program so can you find what your computers local IP is and post it?
Also post a screen shot of the port forwarding page in the router. This will let me see if the rule is added correctly :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

orlos2

  • Guest
Re: "...cannot be reached"
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2010, 11:03:33 AM »
192.168.0.1 - my local IP
And here's the picture:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: "...cannot be reached"
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2010, 12:03:48 PM »
OK I think I see the problem. Delete that rule.
Then go to the Virtual Server page. Add the rule there. Make sure it points to your computers IP address :-)

Post a screen shot when you do. And to double check your computers IP
Open a command window and type in ipconfig  :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

orlos2

  • Guest
Re: "...cannot be reached"
« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2010, 01:57:59 PM »

After changing I tested this port again in your program but it's still oflline :(.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: "...cannot be reached"
« Reply #7 on: May 07, 2010, 02:44:08 PM »
I just want to double check, normally 192.168.0.1 is the router IP. What IP are you using to log into the router?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

orlos2

  • Guest
Re: "...cannot be reached"
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2010, 11:26:56 AM »
I don't know if it's good IP, but I'm logging into router from 87.207.251.123
Also, my friend just told me that I have an internal IP so if I want to open a port, I must call my internet provider. I don't know if it's true, because earlier nothing was wrong and I could open ports.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: "...cannot be reached"
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2010, 07:17:52 PM »
Open a cmd window, type in ipconfig

what do you get for IP and gateway?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

orlos2

  • Guest
Re: "...cannot be reached"
« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2010, 02:43:53 AM »
IP: 192.168.0.121
Gateway: 192.168.0.1
Maybe screenshot can help you. It's in my language but you can compare it to your ipconfig:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: "...cannot be reached"
« Reply #11 on: May 09, 2010, 10:17:44 AM »
OK bud, in the port forwarding rule you will put .121 not .1

Delete the old rule and make a new one. And make sure to use your local ip (The 121)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

orlos2

  • Guest
Re: "...cannot be reached"
« Reply #12 on: May 09, 2010, 11:12:58 AM »
It works! Thanks very much Shane :D

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: "...cannot be reached"
« Reply #13 on: May 09, 2010, 11:25:42 AM »
No problem  :wink:

Since your all fixed I will lock this thread.

And as always...
If your happy with my work. Then all I ask in return is you simply let others know about my site and programs. I do a lot more than port forwarding :-)
Also always feel free to make a post in the feedback forum.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: "...cannot be reached"
« Reply #13 on: May 09, 2010, 11:25:42 AM »