PcWinTech.com Forums

Routers & Modems Forum => Port Forwarding => Topic started by: macnext1 on September 11, 2009, 05:03:22 AM

Title: New Program
Post by: macnext1 on September 11, 2009, 05:03:22 AM
I tried the Simple Port Forwarding Program. The program I need is not there. Would it possible to add:

Directv         
It Uses ports:
STB Services Port 27161
Audio Services Port 27162

The instructions say these ports must be forwarded and since I don't have a clue of how to do that I figured your program would do it for me. Hopefully you can add this program (Directv) to your tool. The HD DVR is hooked into my TrendNet Router at 192.168.10.104 if that helps at all.

Mac
Title: Re: New Program
Post by: Shane on September 11, 2009, 08:28:38 AM
Ok I got it added for ya, just update the database under the tools menu.

Also keep in mind you can always add your own by clicking "Add Custom" on the add port screen in my program  ;D

Shane
Title: Re: New Program
Post by: macnext1 on September 12, 2009, 04:40:07 AM
Thanks, I did the database update and selected 'directv'. I may have screwed up at this point because I selected 'add' and so it thought it now had 4 ports to take care of. Told it to update the router. About 'step 8' it failed with 'object not found' and every step after that failed. I ran the 'check ports' anyway and of course it failed. I looked at help but the only thing I saw was to check my Internet settings. Did that -- all set to medium.

Suggestion?

BTW - while telling my wife about what happened it occurred to me that I should mention something else. While the program is running, I see the TrendNet login screen come up. However that is all it ever shows, I don't know if I should see it stepping to other screens (kind of like the Router Screen Capture) or not but I thought I better mention it.

Mac
Title: Re: New Program
Post by: Shane on September 12, 2009, 08:14:40 AM
its not getting past the login screen.

Do you have the right username and password?
I will also double check the script.

Shane
Title: Re: New Program
Post by: macnext1 on September 13, 2009, 05:51:31 AM
Shane, it was probably the password (maybe). I uninstalled the program (make sure I didn't have something set that shouldn't be), re-installed, brought it up, keyed in user and password, did a show on password (to make sure I didn't finger check), updated databases, selected my router, selected my program (thank you), did an 'add' (still didn't know if I should but did it anyway), and updated router.

It ran to completion with all steps successful. Went to my TV. It said it was connected to the Internet. Went to 'On Demand'. Selected a movie. Looked at the 'List' and it shows the movie I selected being downloaded to the receiver. At the rate it is going it will probably take hours to download but I'm in no hurry.

It's a done deed. Thank you so very much. You realize that now I'll have to go get a wireless router to hook in my other receiver. "I'll Be Back".

Thanks again.

Mac
Title: Re: New Program
Post by: Shane on September 13, 2009, 06:37:21 AM
lol see you then  ;D

Shane