PcWinTech.com Forums

Routers & Modems Forum => Port Forwarding => Topic started by: aetedford on November 27, 2013, 02:31:56 PM

Title: Can not open port on WIndows 8
Post by: aetedford on November 27, 2013, 02:31:56 PM
I have a Windows 8 laptop with Kaspersky Internet Security 14. I use the Linksys EA6500 Wireless Router. My laptop is on 192.168.1.147.
I set up the Open Port in Kapersky: SETTINGS->ADDITIONAL->NETWORK->MONITOR SELECTED PORTS ONLY and add Port 491.

When I go to run telnet 192.168.1.147 491 at a different computer OR on a test site on the internet, it is not open. NETSTAT -a does not show it open either.

PLEASE let me know what I am doing wrong. On my wireless, I set up single-port forwarding on the router to 491 (see attachment).

Nothing seems to work. Please let me know what I should do. I've been trying for 2 days now.
Title: Re: Can not open port on WIndows 8
Post by: Shane on November 27, 2013, 03:42:10 PM
What does my port tester program show?
http://www.pcwintech.com/simple-port-tester

Also in the router find the page that shows what WAN or Internet IP the router has, does it match the IP on this page?
http://www.pcwintech.com/myip

Shane
Title: Re: Can not open port on WIndows 8
Post by: aetedford on November 27, 2013, 04:09:10 PM
Thanks for the quick reply:
Your Port Tester program (Attached) shows connected
I attached part of my netstat to show port 491
However, when I go to a different computer and telnet, it won't work. Also, a program on my ipad to telnet to it also says unreachable.
Your page shows IP address (IPv4 or IPv6): 74.79.17.69
I have attached what my router says, too.

I should be able to reach them from the laptop or ipad. Any ideas?

UPDATE - Have not made ANY changes and your program shows the ports open as FAILED?

Don't know what happened....
Title: Re: Can not open port on WIndows 8
Post by: Shane on November 27, 2013, 08:12:22 PM
My port tester can only test the ports if nothing is using them. And if my port tester says they where open then you can count that they are since it is listening for a connection from my site.

So looks like port forwarding isnt the problem :wink:

Shane