PcWinTech.com Forums

Routers & Modems Forum => Port Forwarding => Topic started by: tylefouryou on May 14, 2011, 09:16:59 AM

Title: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: tylefouryou on May 14, 2011, 09:16:59 AM
Greetings Shane, wow a mission of mercy indeed u are on, my hats off to ya...
At any rate I have forwarded ports successfully in the past formerly verizon fios in order to run dc ++ and also winmx.
Now I have relocated to mexico and am trying to share a connection with my wifes computer with said modem-router; both systems have xp.  was able previously to forward ports successfully on her system alone; however now that I am trying to add my system into the mix, sharing the connection, it seems I am unable to pull off a successful port forward for aforementioned proggies winmx and dc++. I suspect as there are several systems or computer names showing up and it may be I have some deleting to do. ran all tests yesterday from your tool box such as firewall; wmi repair among others. nothing out of ordinary.  did try the simple port forwarding it failed all tests.  I await your command Sir. By the way these 2 wires sure come up frequently in your forum....ugh
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: Evan on May 14, 2011, 10:28:06 AM
First thing is that if you are trying to set up port forwarding for two computers using the same program and ports that isn't going to work with a single router. If you aren't trying to do that and it just doesn't seem to be working then lets take a look at your port forwarding rules. I want to make sure the rules are pointing to the right machine so I need you to post a screen shot of your port forwarding page.

Also, have you checked to make sure you aren't behind a second router? http://www.pcwintech.com/how-setup-two-or-more-routers-together-port-forwarding-port-triggering

Get back to me about those items and we can move forward from there.  :wink:

Evan
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: Shane on May 14, 2011, 11:58:58 AM
Does the port forwarding work to the other systems and not to yours? Or does it not work for any machine?

Shane
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: tylefouryou on May 14, 2011, 12:11:25 PM
well before I lugged my system into the mix, I had successfully forwarded tcp and udp ports on wifeys sytem for winmx and it worked fine! However now that I am trying to share the connnection with my system added in via an ethernet cord plugged into an open plug back of router with hers plugged into an open plug as well back there, I seemed to have lost the ability for either computer. I will unplug my ethernet cord from my sytem and start from scratch on wifes to see if I can get hers back up and running.
Maybe I am trying to do something thats impossible but will letcha know
many thanx
Jeff
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: Shane on May 14, 2011, 12:13:14 PM
You should be able to hook yours up fine. Try what you said and let me know, and lets see what we get from there :wink:

Shane
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: Evan on May 14, 2011, 12:15:53 PM
It should work fine but the best thing for you to do now is to try to recreate the set up you had before (just like you are describing) and see if it works. If it does then we know that the hardware can successfully port forward and it might just be an issue with your computer.

Just for testing purposes, if you have an anti-virus program (such as Norton Internet Security) that has a built in firewall then go ahead and disable the program entirely and if it works for you then you know that all you need to do is add an exception to the program.  :wink:

Evan
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: tylefouryou on May 14, 2011, 12:37:03 PM
yes will get to the recreation of her system working.....unfortunately  i wont be able to send screenshots as for some reason at least while trying to run the screenshot proggy from my machine....it hangs up and I must use task mgr to shut down....back in a bit
Jeff
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: Evan on May 14, 2011, 01:17:04 PM
Just hit Print Screen on the keyboard and it will take a shot of the whole desktop (you can use Alt+Print Screen to take only the active window) and it will save it to the clipboard. Then just open up Microsoft Paint and paste it and save. Then you can upload it to the forum.  :wink:
 
Evan
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: tylefouryou on May 14, 2011, 04:59:55 PM
I was able to forward the tcp port of winmx and check with port checker; everything good. However udp now seems to be the beast; tried many different numbers, matching those with the exceptions called out in xp firewall on wife machine; avast anti virus disabled completely on her machine as well and yet the udp shows up as connection refused on wife machine ugh. Sadly family duties preclude me from allocating too much time at this moment to solve the issues at hand and my apologies. Will keep after it and report back. Thank u very kindly for the service you are providing here. I will be honored when all this is solved to direct any folks in need of this sort of help right to ya.
Jeff
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: Shane on May 14, 2011, 08:13:21 PM
When you get a chance, post a screen shot of the port forwarding page in the router :wink:

Shane
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: tylefouryou on May 16, 2011, 06:48:03 AM
here is a few done with print screen method Sir

[attachments over 25 days old deleted by admin]
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: tylefouryou on May 16, 2011, 07:12:42 AM
another

[attachments over 25 days old deleted by admin]
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: tylefouryou on May 16, 2011, 07:29:06 AM
another

[attachments over 25 days old deleted by admin]
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: Shane on May 16, 2011, 08:52:26 AM
Thanks for the screen shots :wink:

Everything looks great. If TCP is working and UDP isn't this is almost always due to the firewall on the users computer.
A lot of firewall software blocks UDP by default. So check the anti virus and make sure it doesn't have a firewall in it that could be blocking udp :wink:

Shane
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: tylefouryou on May 22, 2011, 08:06:31 AM
Greetings Guru's
I took the time to completely disable windows xp firewall as well as avast 6.0 anti virus, then reboot  then test ports udp namely and still is same deal, port test cannot see that. Also went a step further and tried to enable dmz in router followed by a reboot of machine as well as router same deal. ugh ports either show up as connection timeout out or connection refused. I am gonna include yet another screeno for your perusal.
I honestly dont remember ports being so testy in days gone by; I would endure awhile and then walla it would work. Oh well we shall overcome or simply be relegated to run a secondary connection for winmx and be on a passive connect for dc++
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: Shane on May 22, 2011, 10:12:36 AM
It could be the router blocking it.
On the page you posted you will see on the right "Packet Flood" Which UDP is a part of. Try disabling that, saving and rebooting (Unplug the power power) the router.

Once it comes back up run the port tester again :wink:

Shane
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: tylefouryou on May 25, 2011, 07:02:00 AM
tried that and sadly a no go on that as well. here's yet another screeno
thank u for the counsel
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: Shane on May 25, 2011, 11:20:44 AM
There is a way we can test if it is the router blocking UDP or your system. But it requires another system there. DO you have another system?

Shane
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: tylefouryou on May 28, 2011, 11:39:03 AM
Yes Sir, I do have my system available for said test.....please inform me
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: Shane on May 28, 2011, 11:46:13 AM
Download and install
http://www.pcwintech.com/simple-internet-tools-dozen-simple-helpful-tools

Once installed open the port listener.
In there choose aport and put it on UDP and have it listen on it.

You will do this on your machine.

Now go to the other system. From that system we will try to connect to the UDP port. My port listener will show any connection attempt. By doing this locally we are doing it without the router in the way.

If it works then we know the router is blocking the UDP.
If it still fails then we know something on your system is blocking UDP.

What we can also do instead of all this, is setup a UDP port forwarding rule to your 2nd system. Does it fail as well?

Shane
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: tylefouryou on June 10, 2011, 11:22:33 AM
great news oh wiser than us wizards.  I finally got both systems dialed in to where I need them to be. The problematics seemed to have revolved around both machines using same connection, programs etc etc. Its important to have all exceptions called out in windows xp firewall on both sytems; separate ports forwarded for both machines, lan settings, Just a laundry list of items that needed checking & double checking, and, without pcwintechs assistance and diligence, I very well may not have been able to accomplish what I set out to do.  Thanx Shane and Crew for all your hard work in a most annoying area of computer issues. I will most definitely highly recommend your site to anyone I encounter who is having trouble and needs guidance.
I salute you
Jeff
Title: Re: 2wire 1701HG
Post by: Shane on June 10, 2011, 01:35:20 PM
Good to hear your all set :cheesy:

Since your all fixed I will lock this thread :wink:

And as always...
If your happy with my work. Then all I ask in return is you simply let others know about my site and programs. I help with anything computer or network related :-)
Also always feel free to make a post in the feedback forum.
And a facebook like at the top of the page of my site is nice as well. ;)

Shane