PcWinTech.com Forums

Tools & Programs By PcWinTech.com => (Program) Simple Webpage Capture => Topic started by: Jaded on September 14, 2010, 02:16:23 PM

Title: Partial page captue
Post by: Jaded on September 14, 2010, 02:16:23 PM
I am trying to do a web page capture (using Firefox and Win 7) and I am getting only about 1/4 of the whole page.  Other pages I have captured are working (although this is the longest one).  Any suggestions?
Title: Re: Partial page captue
Post by: Shane on September 14, 2010, 02:34:47 PM
Another user had the same problem. The reason why was this
http://forums.pcwintech.com/index.php/topic,1347.0.html

IE isnt reading the proper page length. Are you doing the same thing as this other user?

Shane
Title: Re: Partial page captue
Post by: Jaded on September 14, 2010, 02:41:34 PM
I'm using Firefox and i don't understand what the solution was in that thread. 
Title: Re: Partial page captue
Post by: Shane on September 14, 2010, 02:45:29 PM
My program uses IE. But thats OK.
The problem for him was the site he was trying to capture was being forwarded from another url.

So he was putting in say www.example.com but when the page loads it was loading another site www.example123.com

For him to get it to work right he just had to put in www.example123.com instead. Bypassing the url forwarding.

If you like I can check the url you are capturing and see if it is the same problem.

Shane
Title: Re: Partial page captue
Post by: Jaded on September 14, 2010, 02:48:17 PM
My program uses IE. But thats OK.
The problem for him was the site he was trying to capture was being forwarded from another url.

So he was putting in say www.example.com but when the page loads it was loading another site www.example123.com

For him to get it to work right he just had to put in www.example123.com instead. Bypassing the url forwarding.

If you like I can check the url you are capturing and see if it is the same problem.

Shane

I don't think that is the problem.  I forgot to mention that if I start the software at the point where the last capture stopped it will capture some more of the page.  It took 4 successive captures to eventually get the whole page.  If you would take a look that would be great.  THX
Title: Re: Partial page captue
Post by: Jaded on September 14, 2010, 02:50:55 PM
 :shy: oops Here is the url   :wink:

http://www.gutenberg.org/files/13510/13510-h/13510-h.htm

Title: Re: Partial page captue
Post by: Shane on September 14, 2010, 02:51:30 PM
np, I will take a look in a bit, need to finish up this customers computer and then I will get to it :-)

shane
Title: Re: Partial page captue
Post by: Shane on September 14, 2010, 07:57:39 PM
Getting a page not found error. Is this the right link?

Shane
Title: Re: Partial page captue
Post by: Jaded on September 15, 2010, 10:28:50 AM
Try getting to it this way.  Either do a search for "Gutenberg project" or follow his link:
http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page

Then click "advanced search"  under "E-text" type 13510.
Once you have the listing click on HTML.  It should take directly to the page. :smiley:
Title: Re: Partial page captue
Post by: Shane on September 15, 2010, 10:45:36 AM
Wow that's a big page lol.
From what I can tell it is grabbing a large portion of it but not all of it. Is that what is happening to you?

I will do some testing and see if I can fig out why it isnt getting it all :-)

Shane
Title: Re: Partial page captue
Post by: Jaded on September 15, 2010, 11:03:21 AM
Yes that's it. lol
Title: Re: Partial page captue
Post by: Shane on September 15, 2010, 11:07:04 AM
I think on how big it is that it is hitting a limit in my code. So I am going through my code now and redoing some of it to handle such a big page and see how it does.
I will post back soon when it is fixed :-)

Shane
Title: Re: Partial page captue
Post by: Shane on September 15, 2010, 11:15:41 AM
Well I found the problem. The control I use, a picture box has a max height of 16,383 pixels.
Thats why the captures are the size, it cant go any bigger.
Since this is a limitation of the control I am not sure how I can fix this one. I will dig in and see if I can find a way to make it work :-)

Shane
Title: Re: Partial page captue
Post by: Shane on September 15, 2010, 11:30:09 AM
Did some research. I wrote the program in Visual Basic 6 (Rather dang old now, but I am so good at it I cant seem to let it go)
VB6 has a max 16,000 pixels limit on the picture. But in Visual Studio 2010 that I have been working with the max for a picture box is 65535 pixels.

Looks like the only way I will get this to work is to upgrade the program from VB6 to Vb.net 2010.

Not sure if I have the time for it yet, but I have been planning on moving every one of my programs to .net. So looks like this will be the first. Just writing another game for the iphone and such so a little slammed. But I will see what I can do later on. But the bad part is it wont be a quick update. I have to change a ton of code. And a lot of my code from VB6 wont carry over to .net so I will have to re write a lot of it. But that's not a problem for me  :wink:

Shane
Title: Re: Partial page captue
Post by: Jaded on September 15, 2010, 12:54:57 PM
Thank you, I appreciate the effort as I'm sure sure many others do as well! :cheesy:
Title: Re: Partial page captue
Post by: Shane on September 17, 2010, 02:46:52 PM
Just thought I would let you know.

I thought about doing Simple Webpage Capture 2.0.

Its not a hard program for me to do and would be a good one to do my first cross over from VB 6 to .net 2010.

So I have decided to do it. I have attached a pic of the main window. I am making it just the same, but from what I am seeing it should be a ton easier to do in 2010.

I cant put full time into it as I have tons of other things. But it will be an app I work on when I get time and to get my self up to date with VB 2010.

So just wanted to let you know I am working on it.
I am doing it all over from scratch as trying to import a VB6 to 2010 is pointless.

It just wont be ready any time soon :-)

Shane

[attachments over 25 days old deleted by admin]
Title: Re: Partial page captue
Post by: Shane on October 18, 2010, 06:51:24 PM
Just wanted to let you know I should have the new version done soon :-)

You up for some testing?

Shane
Title: Re: Partial page captue
Post by: Shane on October 18, 2010, 07:50:04 PM
Well you wont believe this. Just spent the past few days remaking the entire app in .net 2010 (.net 4.0)

I did this because the picture box can handle 65,000 pixels. BUT the save image code in .net can still only do 16,000 pixels!!!

So the same limit that was in my vb6 version is still in the .net version.

So the program will not be able to capture pages above 16,000 pixels in height.

Looks like there is no reason to finish up this .net version. I may finish it later just so I can have it in .net. but right now, no real reason.

Sorry I couldn't help you more. But I have no way to over come this limit. In fact I test the page you gave me and it is larger than 65,000 pixels and the IE control can measure past it. MS just didn't think people would do graphics that big.

Shane