Author Topic: Actiontec PK5000 port forwarding issues  (Read 7671 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Vanimelde

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Actiontec PK5000 port forwarding issues
« on: March 17, 2011, 09:13:20 PM »
Hello, I am having trouble forwarding ports on my router. I will explain my situation below.

As stated in the subject, I am on an Actiontec PK5000 router. I wish to forward port 1606.

I've followed all of the instructions for doing so, and I've even tried using the Simple Port Forwarding tool.

I've also ensured that certain prerequisites were met, such as DMZ being disabled, and my router's firewall being disabled.

Even after all of this, I am unable to receive data through this port.

Screenshots of what I have done can be seen below.





Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

~Vanimelde

PcWinTech.com Forums

Actiontec PK5000 port forwarding issues
« on: March 17, 2011, 09:13:20 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,331
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 488
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Actiontec PK5000 port forwarding issues
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2011, 09:22:33 PM »
The problem may not be the router. :wink:

The port forwarding rule and all the settings look great. Granted you have the right local Ip in the rule, which since you have all the other settings right I am sure you got the correct IP. :wink:

So we will start going down this list
http://www.pcwintech.com/common-problems-fixes-port-forwarding

Also my tool box page
http://www.pcwintech.com/shanes-toolbox

Download my repair WMI & Windows firewall tool. Run it it and reboot.

Then grab my port tester program.
http://www.pcwintech.com/simple-port-tester

Run it and see what it says for the port. Post a screen shot if you would. make sure to blur out your internet IP when you do, but leave the Local IP it shows so I can confirm it is the same IP in the port forwarding rule :wink:

Shane
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Vanimelde

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: Actiontec PK5000 port forwarding issues
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2011, 10:11:45 PM »
I have since tried all those things, and it still doesn't work.

Regards,
~Vanimelde

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,331
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 488
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Actiontec PK5000 port forwarding issues
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2011, 10:19:02 PM »
Got your screen shot :-)

I was hoping for the whole window, the drop down box that shows your local IP, what does it say?

Its past 10 pm for me and I am watching a movie with the wife. :tongue:

Couple more things I would like to have you try. First I want you to unplug the power to the modem and then back in. Sometimes a restart helps.

Also do you have a 2nd machine we can test the port forwarding with? This wil help me see if the problem is in the router or on your machine.

Oh and on your machine, if the windows firewall is off, make sure to turn it on :wink:

Let me know

Shane
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Vanimelde

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: Actiontec PK5000 port forwarding issues
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2011, 10:35:13 PM »
Done, tested on a second machine (Mac laptop) and still offline.


Thanks,
~Vanimelde

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,331
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 488
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Actiontec PK5000 port forwarding issues
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2011, 11:04:40 PM »
Well you have done everything right. Rule looks good, settings look good.

Looks like it is time for me to take a look :wink:

Send me an email. Movie is just about over, we will get on msn or yahoo and I will take a look with teamviewer.

Then we can post the fix when we are done.

Talk to you in a few :wink:

Shane
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Vanimelde

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: Actiontec PK5000 port forwarding issues
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2011, 11:29:12 PM »
Okay then, I sent you an e-mail with my msn messenger account.

I do hope it was a good movie. :)

~Vanimelde

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,331
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 488
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Actiontec PK5000 port forwarding issues
« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2011, 11:33:16 PM »
I'm online and waiting :-)

Shane
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,331
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 488
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Actiontec PK5000 port forwarding issues
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2011, 11:54:11 PM »
Follow up.

Port forwarding worked fine. He was running the port tester from the page and not clicking the connect button.
So the port was never being used so the test failed no matter what.

Also helped him get a dynamic dns account setup for his game and got him all set.

Since your all fixed I will lock this thread :wink:

And as always...
If your happy with my work. Then all I ask in return is you simply let others know about my site and programs. I help with anything computer or network related :-)
Also always feel free to make a post in the feedback forum.

Shane
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Actiontec PK5000 port forwarding issues
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2011, 11:54:11 PM »