Author Topic: Ports forwarded correctly but access still failing  (Read 24279 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Brocktoon

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Ports forwarded correctly but access still failing
« on: October 30, 2010, 08:03:47 AM »
I am running the Ubee U10C09 router. It has wireless capability but my desktop is plugged into it and does not access it wirelessly. I am trying to open a couple ports. Your program does this just fine. I get success on all the port forwarding messages during the process.

I then, of course, get to the step where we double check to make certain that they're opened successfully but they fail. Numerous times. Trying to sort out what's going on.

The updating message:

Router: Ubee - U10C019 (Ambit Firmware)
Loading Commands...
Number Of Port Forwards To Send To Router (2)
Running Commands...

(Current -  1/2)
Adding BB (TCP/UDP) For Ports 16962-16962 To 192.168.0.1()

Running Script From Database For Selected Router
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Step 01. nav_first_only("")
(Successful) (http://user:user@192.168.0.1/)
Step 02. nav_first_only("AGwForwarding.asp")
(Successful) (http://user:user@192.168.0.1/AGwForwarding.asp)
Step 03. set_name_array("1|2|3|4|5|6|7|8|9|10")
(Successful)
Step 04. set_name_to_check("tmpAddressLocalIP3,3")
(Successful) (Current Name From Name Array tmpAddressLocal10IP3)
Step 05. set_ip4("tmpAddressLocalIP3,3")
(Successful)
Step 06. set_start_port("tmpPortLocal,0")
(Successful)
Step 07. set_start_port("tmpPortGlobalStart,0")
(Successful)
Step 08. set_stop_port("tmpPortGlobalEnd,0")
(Successful)
Step 09. set_type_choices("TCP|UDP|BOTH")
Step 10. set_combobox("tmpProtocol,0")
(Successful)
Step 11. set_checkbox("tmpEnable,0")
(Successful)
Step 12. click_button_last_only(" Apply  ")
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Finished Adding BB

(Current -  2/2)
Adding BB2 (UDP) For Ports 9103-9103 To 192.168.0.1()

Running Script From Database For Selected Router
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Step 01. nav_first_only("")
Step 02. nav_first_only("AGwForwarding.asp")
Step 03. set_name_array("1|2|3|4|5|6|7|8|9|10")
(Successful)
Step 04. set_name_to_check("tmpAddressLocalIP3,3")
(Successful) (Current Name From Name Array tmpAddressLocal10IP3)
Step 05. set_ip4("tmpAddressLocalIP3,3")
(Successful)
Step 06. set_start_port("tmpPortLocal,0")
(Successful)
Step 07. set_start_port("tmpPortGlobalStart,0")
(Successful)
Step 08. set_stop_port("tmpPortGlobalEnd,0")
(Successful)
Step 09. set_type_choices("TCP|UDP|BOTH")
Step 10. set_combobox("tmpProtocol,0")
(Successful)
Step 11. set_checkbox("tmpEnable,0")
(Successful)
Step 12. click_button_last_only(" Apply  ")
(Successful)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Finished Adding BB2


-------------------DONE! (All Commands Finished)-------------------



The access attempt message:

16962 TCP     Failed
9103 UDP       Failed
« Last Edit: October 30, 2010, 08:06:37 AM by Brocktoon »

PcWinTech.com Forums

Ports forwarded correctly but access still failing
« on: October 30, 2010, 08:03:47 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Ports forwarded correctly but access still failing
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2010, 08:18:57 AM »
No problem, lets get you fixed up  :wink:

What will will do is start going down this list
http://www.pcwintech.com/common-problems-fixes-port-forwarding

First thing is I would like you to post 2 screen shots.
The first will be a picture of the main window of my program. This will let me see your local ip and the rules you wanted added.

Then post a screen of the port forwarding page in your router. This will let me see if the rules where added correctly.

Then we will start going down the list from there.  :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Brocktoon

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Ports forwarded correctly but access still failing
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2010, 08:43:53 AM »
You rock with the fast reply on a Saturday!





Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Ports forwarded correctly but access still failing
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2010, 08:48:20 AM »
I see the problem  :wink:

You local IP is 192.168.0.10 but you have all the port forwarding rules pointing to 192.168.0.1.

So here is what you do. First click view/remove ports button int he program. This will take you to the port forwarding page. Then you need to remove all the rules and click save.

After that update all the rules in my program to put to the correct IP 192.168.0.10
Then have it update the router again.

Then after that run the port tester again.

Let me know how it goes. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Brocktoon

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Ports forwarded correctly but access still failing
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2010, 08:53:42 AM »
Not 100% following. I do not have a Save button, only Apply. Which is more or less the same thing. When I delete a value (16962, say) in a field it  gives me an error of "Warning, Port Value Invalid" when I go to the next field and immediately replaces what I just deleted.

Also, I originally had it set to .10 but it gave me a NOT FOUND error. I can only access my router via SPF if it is set to .1

EDIT: Confirmed that the NOT FOUND error still exists if I shift to .10
« Last Edit: October 30, 2010, 08:58:43 AM by Brocktoon »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Ports forwarded correctly but access still failing
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2010, 08:58:09 AM »
No problem. I will explain better.

In the program the Router ip at the top stays 192.168.0.1

I am talking about the port forwarding rules i the list. Double click on them to edit them. Those rules should point to 192.168.0.10On the port forwarding page you just need to put a 0 in all the text boxes.

Like on this page as an example.
http://www.pcwintech.com/files/screenshots/ambit-u10c019/024.png

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Brocktoon

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Ports forwarded correctly but access still failing
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2010, 08:59:44 AM »
Got it. The ones up top (9103, 2800, etc) were there when I opened the router. Is it alright to leave them extant?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Ports forwarded correctly but access still failing
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2010, 09:02:40 AM »
You want all the rules changed. If you don't want to click them out, just change each rules local IP from .1 to .10  :wink:

Click save, then click apply. You have to hit both.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Brocktoon

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Ports forwarded correctly but access still failing
« Reply #8 on: October 30, 2010, 09:04:14 AM »
Did so. I think I get what you mean here. On the front page, I keep it as .1 to access the router. Once I'm in, I set up the ports as I did but then I go in and manually change the ports to point to .10 instead of .1. Is this correct?

Offline Brocktoon

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Ports forwarded correctly but access still failing
« Reply #9 on: October 30, 2010, 09:06:26 AM »
I actually did just that and it worked! Thanks so much! I think you actually helped me understand something about firewalls I never understood before, by extension.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Ports forwarded correctly but access still failing
« Reply #10 on: October 30, 2010, 09:09:48 AM »
This is a quick little read I wrote so people can better understand the whole point of port forward  :wink:
http://www.pcwintech.com/what-port-forwarding-nutshell

Since your all set I will lock this thread.

And as always...
If your happy with my work. Then all I ask in return is you simply let others know about my site and programs. I do a lot more than port forwarding :-)
Also always feel free to make a post in the feedback forum.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Ports forwarded correctly but access still failing
« Reply #10 on: October 30, 2010, 09:09:48 AM »

 

email